Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
A Change of Era
10-16-2003 E 1:00 p.m.
I'm in a...bind, I guess. I liked the druidress idea as a ghost and the story line she was sparking, but there was the setback of me never having been to the British Isles before keeping me from writing a believable backdrop for her life. So then I moved her up several hundred centuries to 1850 roughly in the Antebellum South, a time I know I could find out about with the proper and in-depth research. *sighs* Trouble is, I'm having a hard time finding any descriptions of what women wore, besides the hoop skirts. What underthings did they wear and what did they look like? How were they fastened? What material did they use? Were there morning dresses, afternoon dresses, apart from the beautiful ballgowns and party dresses they wore? And what about the poor and the slaves? How plainly did they dress? Then there are the men and their styles. Not to mention hairstyles and expected decorum. I figured last night if I were going to do the pre-Civil War thing, it would help if I watched Gone With the Wind again, but... I can't stand that movie! I know, I know, I know! It's a danged classic. How dare I not like it? I just can't stand Scarlet's personality. It's all about her, her, her. And others be danged.

And that's part of the problem. I'm not really enthusiastic about the pre-Civil War angle. I am stuck, unable to think of a story for how my ghost became a ghost. Or how her bracelet came to the antiques store two of my characters frequent. I know, the simple answer would be to change the era and perhaps the place... *thinking* The Republic of Texas or the Texas Revolution...she could live then. It'll still be in Texas, a place I know, so I can write the backdrop more convincingly than I could of ancient Wales. And my interest level is higher.

Ok, I pulled up the site for the Daughters of the Republic of Texas to see what it has. I'm looking for an email link to write to them to see if they will help by way of correct info on clothing and hair and history. Which means I better call Nana tomorrow and tell her of my change of plan--I'd asked her to ask Paw Paw if he would send me info or point me in the right direction for it, since he's a war buff, specifically the Civil War and WW1. Yes, that's what I'll do--if I kin find a blasted email link or guestbook that'll work.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Life isn�t a matter of milestones, but of moments.
~Rose Kennedy~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE