Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Men Are Unsure Too
02-19-2003 E 3:11 p.m.
My Yahoo! is the opening page I use on my browser. It has many different thangs you can add to personalize it according to your interests. On mine, I have a caluculator, the weather forecasts for cities that hold my interests, the top 10 in music and movies, my horoscope and three of my favorite comics from the newspaper, to name a few. "Cathy" has always been a must whenever I could lay my hands on a copy of the Sunday Funnies. ("B.C." is another one--I always like and admire the points Johnny Hart makes with his cavemen and ants.)

Today's panel from "Cathy," though, made me chuckle. It shows the complexities of any normal relationship. To call or not to call. And (in the man's mind) does he really want to or is he ready to handle the gaggle of females that comes with the one he's interested in?

Poor Irvin. *chuckles* Against the rest of the female population he doesn't stand a chance. Any little thing he does or says could possibly end up being the wrong thing. Then he will have that gaggle of females on the end of the other line for sure.

Kinda reminds me of the movie Heather and I saw recently, My Big Fat Greek Wedding. Her family was kinda like the gaggle of females in that they gossiped and had very loud opinions of eevverryythang. And I got the feeling if Ian had hurt Toula he would've heard a lot from her family. And indeed, committing to her meant accepting the added package of her culture and family. But Ian did it so well, and was so very kind and open to her family's way of doing things. They were loud and boisterous, intrusive and open and very proud of their being Greek.

The only thang that bothered me was that they took over the wedding plans. The mother picked out and ordered the invitations without consulting either Toula or Ian. The cousin picked out the bridesmaids' dresses--without consultation. I mean it was their wedding, not her family's, and to me, they weren't at all the couple's usual tastes. But they used the family's choices of items and decorations, I guess, as a peace offering. If it had been my wedding, I woulda politely and tried delicately to say no, thank you. This is my wedding and I've dreamed of picking out the dresses, the colors and invitations. (Of course, my fianc� would be a part of all this.) If they still insisted, I'd elope with my fianc�. *laughs*

All in all, it was cute. As most chick flicks do though, it portrays the guy as sensitive, intuitive and funny. You fall in love with him, wishing other men were like him. But in reality...they're (at least, many aren't) not that sensitive or intuitive. They're guys who don't understand the emotional mind of a female and are just trying to please us in their own bumbling way. Trust me, those who're interested are as unsure and afraid as we are of mucking up a relationship.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE