Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Elvis and Black Velvet
11-08-2002 E 11:39 p.m.
I know it's late, but I had nothing better to do. Jon and Aubree still have guests over, and I was losing at one of the easiest Solitaire games ever. I just can't get a break, so I figured why not add another entry for today?

Ok, this is where I confess I am an Elvis fan--a big one. I love a handful of his movies, Tickle Me and Double Trouble being my two favorites. I love his songs--his voice can melt my bones and raise goose pimples on my flesh. In short, plain English, despite his wandering ways I love him. (He has the same coloring as my dream guy...in case you're wondering.)

As a kid, I first heard the song, Black Velvet by Alannah Myles. I was told by my old babysitter it was a song about The King. A few years ago however, Sandy--my friend/care provider--told me it was a song about a brand of booze, called of course, Black Velvet. I'm sure they're both right. I'm sure there is liquor out there called Black Velvet, but I have to agree with Cathy. When I this song I think of Elvis. She (Alannah Myles) is talking of him, the way his smile had a way of affecting people, not to mention his voice. He was wonderful; the song is on my 80s Love Songs album. I don't know why, it doesn't deal with lovers, but perhaps they put it on there because of the love affair America had with Elvis. Who knows? But here is the song:

Mississippi in the middle of a dry spell
Jimmy Rogers on the Victrola up high
Mama's dancin' with baby on her shoulder
The sun is settin' like molasses in the sky
The boy could sing, knew how to move, everything
Always wanting more, he'd leave you longing for

Black velvet and that little boy's smile
Black velvet with that slow southern style
A new religion that'll bring ya to your knees
Black velvet if you please

Up in Memphis the music's like a heatwave
White lightening, bound to drive you wild
Mama's baby's in the heart of every school girl
"Love me tender" leaves 'em cryin' in the aisle
The way he moved, it was a sin, so sweet and true
Always wanting more, he'd leave you longing for

Black velvet and that little boy's smile
Black velvet with that slow southern style
A new religion that'll bring ya to your knees
Black velvet if you please

Every word of every song that he sang was for you
In a flash he was gone, it happened so soon, what could you do?

Black velvet and that little boy's smile
Black velvet with that slow southern style
A new religion that'll bring ya to your knees
Black velvet if you please

Black velvet and that little boy's smile
Black velvet with that slow southern style
A new religion that'll bring ya to your knees
Black velvet if you please

If you please, if you please, if you please

~Alannah Myles~

..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE