Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
He Leaves For Basic Training Tomorrow
07-27-2002 E 3:13 p.m.
Well of the thangs on the list I made earlier this week, I got one thing done, plus a couple of others that were not on it. So it's not been a total loss.

We got a mini version of the storm I've been wishing for. The power even went off. But unfortunately, it didn't last too long. Though, there were a couple of impressive booms and lightning flashes. I was glad Egypt was inside already.

Mike leaves for SC tomorrow. He will have basic training there at some base. He and Jen have been practically non-existent the past couple days. Understandable of course; they'll spend their first anniversary apart. But then they'll be reunited after two months. I hope they can survive the separation and that it'll make them a stronger unit when they are together again. I also hope Mike can withstand the abuse his superiors will heap on him and the others.

*is a bit emotional* This family is about to spread its wings and fly for the first time. This is Mike and Jen's first step in finding their place away from family. Once basic training is over they'll be in Monterrey, CA. And in Aug. Kami will be living in Utah. Then there's me. I have no wish to be a Boiseite so Utah or wherever I find a job is where I'm bound. In a few years it'll be Jon's turn. He'll be a missionary either in the States or abroad. (After Mike's Czech Republic the States seem so ordinary, but I know Jon will serve with pride.)

It seems a dream that Michael is going tomorrow, and that we won't see him for quite some time. I guess it doesn't seem possible because he hasn't been by to say "See ya later" or "I'll call when I can." Wonder if we'll see them tonight before we leave for the performance of the Dance Festival?

*sigh* I have lil ambition this week. I'm content with a good book, a movie or with trying to write the next stanza on the "Mother Earth" poem. On which I've made some progress. I'm now on summer's stanza. And the shape the entire thang's taken so far could be good or bad, considering what light you view it in. It has curves so it could be very round ocean waves, which defeats the poem's description so that would be bad. Or it could be the profile of a pregnant woman from the neck down... Which is good because the mother figure is often seen as a pregnant woman. So, I either succeeded or contradicted myself.

The hardest part about this poem has been that a pattern became readily visible close to the beginning. A six-six line limitation. Now with subsequent verses it's been hard to fit all I want to in six lines. I've had to sacrifice a bunch of good imagery that would have added two more lines to a couple of the paragraphs. But then the poem would go on an' on. It's already a bit long as it is. But in a few days I'll post it and you can be the judge.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"Life's to short to belittle."

~Grandpa B.~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE