Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Shiloh Plays Andy Rooney
09-21-2003 E 4:16 p.m.
This is my "Opinion Entry" for the week. Over this past week, Mom and I have watched a few shows on tv together. One was called Meet the Royals. This episode was on the love affair between Charles and Camilla Parker Balls(?). To be painstakingly blunt, they're adulterers. They met as youths and Charles fell head-over-heels instantly in love, but Camilla wasn't quite as taken with him--at least, not then. For she sometime later married her husband, Andrew Parker Balls(?). Charles, of course, was crushed, but that didn't stop him from starting and continuing an affair with the woman while she was married. In fact, her husband encouraged it while having his own affairs! The extent of the "Royal Affair" didn't stop there. No, the prince moved in with his mistress and her husband for a while...

At this point, both Mom and I looked at each other in disgust. Some morals the British royalty and aristocracy have, huh? And this is the son of the head of the Church of England and the future king of that country. No wonder Diana started becoming her own woman and gave up on the image of a happy family. There were too many people in her marriage; in her own words, "It was quite crowded." Indeed, a marriage should only include two mortals and one deity. Not three mortals: a husband, his mistress and the wife.

I don't blame Diana one bit for the way she felt or acted. Charles, the jerk, treated her like dirt. When they were dating, Charles was caught by the press boarding a train with a mystery woman who later turned out to be, who else? Camilla, his beloved mistress. *insert sarcasm here* And once they became engaged, Charles dropped Diana like a sack of hot potatoes in the dirt and retired to his mistress' house! The wedding drew nigh and Diana wanted out. But her sisters said it was too late; her face was already being stitched on the tea towels.

To heck with the tea towels!!! I would've just run. I wouldn't care, my self-respect is more important than duty to my country. If my boyfriend or fiance treated me as Charles did Diana, he wouldn't be in my life for long. I mean, even after they were married he treated her like the proverbial ball and chain. He even made digs at her at some state thing. My heart went out to her then. He didn't have to take out his unhappiness on her. In my opinion he's acted quite the jerk. And I don't feel sorry for either of them, Camilla and Charles, about how their lives have gone.

Then there is the queen herself. She's allowed or put up with this 30-year long affair, and all the sudden she started squawking about appearances when the PR people tried to promote Camilla in a good light.

At this Mom said, "If it's lasted 30 years, lady, it's probably not going to go away." My sentiment was more "It's a bit too late to cry out about it now. If you wanted to say something about it before, you should've done so before it really got started."

*********
Mom has started watching Oprah instead of The Golden Girls, and one of the episodes last week featured interior design or redecorating. The closet in her town house was as big or bigger as my entire apartment at ISU! Heaven forbid! I used to think it might be cool and wonder what it would be like to live on a grand estate with vast, immaculate lawns of impossible green and graceful Greek statues and maybe a wishing fountain about the property. I would be a debutante and our family would hold balls and parties where we'd get to wear wonderful, expensive and pretty dresses. But now I can happily kiss that day dream a fond goodbye after watching the flashes of myriad cameras constantly going off in the faces of those in the public eye. I am perfectly happy to live below the uppercrust.
**********
And this is one Heather can commiserate with. If...I'm not necessarily smiling, that--does--not--mean--I'm mad. I don't have to smile 24/7 to be Suzie Sunshine! Can you smile 24/7? I thought not. So, just because you're not smiling should I assume (Aubree) you're angry? Of course not. I almost told her to get a grip.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Each day of our lives we make deposits in the memory banks of our children.
~Charles R. Swindoll~

..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE