Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
The Friday Five: Music Talk
09-19-2003 E 12:57 p.m.
1) Who is your favorite singer/musician? Why?

I have many. It just depends on what genre you're meaning or if I can include bands. I'm a forever fan of Enya, as a female artist and for what she's done for Celtic music. As for a male artist, Phil Collins can sing all he wants and I'll forever be happy. And if I can include bands, I'd add Air Supply, Mike and the Mechanics and Chicago.

2) What one singer/musician can you not stand? Why?

Mick Jagger of the Rolling Stones. His appearance alone has turned me off any time I've seen his picture. Plus, he comes across as a self-centered, "I'm a Rock God" type of person who doesn't care about the small people.

3) If your favorite singer wasn't in the music business, do you think you would still like him/her as a person?

I probably wouldn't have heard of them, unless other talents they possess made them well-known. And it would depend upon if I got hold of their biography somehow. Take, for instance, Elvis Presley. He could so sing; in fact his voice has the power to make me melt into warm goo. From his biography I know he loved kids and loved helping people who needed it, yet he was a skirt-chaser and was dependent on prescription pills. Despite these two flaws, yes, I could like Elvis as a person because of his good heart.

4) Have you been to any concerts? If yes, who put on the best show?

I've been to three or four: The Osmond Brothers, Voice Male, the Band of the Grenadier Guards and the Pipes, Drums and Dancers of the Highlands and Roger Whittaker. All of them were good, way good. However, I enjoyed the last two the best. I guess because they meant more to myself and other family members than the others. Mom, Jon and I went to the band and Highland concert because we are highly interested in our Celtic heritage. And Mom loves Roger Whittaker. She has his Christmas album, and on the first snowfall she has to put him in and play it. We grew up listening to him every holiday season. And one year when I was still up at Ricks, he toured the United States and came to our town. He gave me the perfect gift to give to Mom and Dad for their anniversary. (It's in December.) I bought us three tickets to his concert, and he sang the songs from his Christmas album! So, you see, those concerts have special meaning for us.

5) What are your thoughts on downloading free music online vs. purchasing albums? Do you feel the RIAA is right in its pursuit to stop people from dowloading free music?

Well...I do download mucic from the Internet. But only those songs I cannot find or have a lot of trouble locating on sites like Amazon.com. I know that is rationalizing it, but it's true. There is some good music out there that you have fond memories of, and sometimes the only way to own these is to download 'em.

On the other side of the copper coin I can see why the RIAA is pursuing and trying to fine people for pirating music. I mean, those who've word hard on putting these albums together are losing money left and right as unauthorized people make copies and sell them for their own profit. But what about those who don't make copies and sell them? It's all right to record movies you rent, but it's prohibited to sell copies. So why isn't it ok to download a few songs you like for your pleasure only, if you don't download them with the intent of full piracy--that of making and selling copies?

Questions found at the Friday Five.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE