Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Anatomy of Childhood: Childhood Friends
02-25-2006 E 10:27 a.m.
Feeling-- stuffed up, like I'm back to Square One
Reading-- The Princess Diaries, Volume IV: Princess In Waiting by Meg Cabot
Listening to-- nothing

*lifts the shiny gold lid marked "Chocolates" in brown flowing script off the square box on my desk and sets it aside. peering into the box I peruse the delectable contents, ignoring the two empty spots where I'd already partaken of the sweet candy. mentally playing "Eeny Meeny Miney Moe" I circle my index finger over several of them, deciding shortly thereafter to just take a dark chocolate round covered in chocolate sprinkles. biting into the luscious treat I discover a tasty strawberry filling in the middle. smiling happily and closing my eyes its sweet berry aroma fills my senses, reminding of a doll I once owned as a kid and taking me back to a less hectic time, to when I had that doll and many of her equally sweet-smelling friends too*

*Strawberry Shortcake Theme Song(?)
Who sleeps all night in a cake made of strawberries?
Wakes up bright and early in a cake made of strawberries?
Living, riding in a cake made of strawberries,
Strawberry Shortcake, wouldn't you know?
Who sweeps her floors in a cake made of strawberries?
Lays outdoors of a cake made of strawberries,
Games and chores in a cake made of strawberries,
Strawberry Shortcake, wouldn't you know?

As a girl, Strawberry Shortcake--amongst several over loveable characters, namely that bear with very little brain who's all stuffed with fluff named Winne the Pooh--was one of my all-time favorite toys and cartoons. I loved how they got her and her friends, Apple Dumplin', Lemon Meringue, Raspberry Tart and Huckleberry Pie to smell like the very things they were named after. That was one of my favorite things about them. And I loved the cartoon and Strawberry would always "berry" instead of "very."

"Thank you berry, berry much!"

For my 10th birthday Mom made my cake into an air balloon, where she put my Strawberry Shortcake and Huckleberry Pie dolls into the "basket" of the cake as the passengers. It was awesome.

Eventually as I got older my parents sold my dolls at garage or yard sales--without me being aware of it, or if I was, I stupid to not care or protest. Now that she is popular once again, my parents and I are wishing we still had my dolls, for they were the original Strawberry Shortcake dolls. Meaning they're collector's items now. =os But if I had them, I wouldn't sell them.

The new generation of Strawberry Shortcake dolls makes me berry nostalgic for my dolls. In this one instance I wish I could be a kid again, so I could have an excuse to buy the dolls and have "my collection" again...but to be honest I prefer the originals. I think they were much cuter.

********
As I said above, Winnie the Pooh was another kid favorite of mine. One of my earliest memories is of listening to a record on which Winnie the Pooh and the Blustery Day, or something like that was recorded. I'd listen to that record at my grandparents' farm till I plain wore it out. That was one of my berry favorite stories as a young child. I loved Winnie the Pooh; I loved his simpleness, his friendship with the shy, nervous Piglet and Christopher Robin, I loved the juxtaposition of the child-like thinking and the adult/bachelor life he and most of the other characters lead (except for Kanga and Roo) and I loved the music.

Winnie the Pooh and his friends are classic and timeless. I don't know of any generation that hasn't liked or loved his stories and his world in the 100-Acre Wood. I still like to watch the cartoons featuring Winnie and his pals, and I will be encouraging my nephews and any future nieces I have to read the books and to watch the cartoons.

Unlike many of the cartoons today, the ones, like the two I've mentioned above, are worth seeing and have value (in my opinion, of course,) and would help develop better attitudes and standards in today's children. (Care Bears is another one, come to think of it and for one, I'm happy to see their return.)

Winnie the Pooh Theme Song
Deep in the hundred-acre wood
Where Christopher Robin plays,
You will find the enchanted neighborhood
Of Christopher's childhood days.

A donkey named Eeyore is his friend,
And Kanga and little Roo.
There's Rabbit and Piglet and there's Owl
But most of all Winnie the Pooh.

Winnie the Pooh, Winnie the Pooh
Tubby little cubby all stuffed with fluff.
He's Winnie the Pooh, Winnie the Pooh.
Willy nilly silly ole bear.

...Willy nilly silly ole bear.

Winnie the Pooh, Winnie the Pooh
Tubby little cubby all stuffed with fluff.
He's Winnie the Pooh, Winnie the Pooh.
Willy nilly silly ole bear.

...Willy nilly silly ole bear.

Robert B. Sherman*I tried finding the original lyrics to Strawberry's theme song, but Google's results were berry confusing, so I did the best I could from memory and Google's results.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE