Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
A New Project/Job--FINALLY
02-24-2006 E 12:46 p.m.
Feeling-- excited and a bit nervous
Reading-- The Princess Diaries, Volume IV: Princess In Waiting by Meg Cabot
Listening to-- nothing

I GOT A JOB!!!! =^0 Well, sort of. It's more like a project run by the Governor's Council for Disabilities--but I get paid! So I call/consider it a job of sorts. Now I've finally been able to say to my dad something that I've been wishing I could for his half-joking razzing of my unemployed status. To his "Have you gone out and found a job yet today?" I've had the satisfaction of saying, "Well, Dad, I went out and finally got a job."

I've not said anything before now because I wasn't sure I'd get it. And I've learned from past experience that with things I really, really want to happen, it's better to be low key about them and to not have too high of hopes in case they fall through. That way, I'm never so disappointed or saddened when things don't go as I hoped or wanted them to. To be honest, I was beginning to think I hadn't been chosen for the project because it was going on two weeks since the deadline the Council had set for the return of the applications and additional requested materials. (Now that I think about it and as the lady explained over the phone yesterday about how busy she'd been, the Council probably had had more applications than I initially thought sent in to it. And as Ms. P. was the one really to look through all or most of them, amongst the other things she'd had to do, it was no wonder it took longer than I expected to hear back from her.) I was about ready to email her, asking whether or not I'd been chosen for the project when she called with the great news.

Ok, ok, I'll end the suspense now and tell you about the job or project. *smiles widely* It's called Determined To VOTE!, and I'll be working with two other people on a three-member team in our region (Region 7) to teach disabled people, along with the elderly, how to research political issues, why it's important to vote and how and where they can find accessible voting in their counties. Before each election we'll do a presentation for those in our region to help educate or remind them of what I've already stated above. For each presentation we do we'll be paid $100 dollars.

My training is next month in Boise and it'll be over St. Patrick's Day Weekend. All expenses will be paid. My trainer, Eric Y., has already called, congratulating me on my acceptance and seems like a really cool guy. He's also disabled and is going to school to be a sports broadcaster. I'll update as I know more.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE