Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
The Irony of My Project/Job
02-26-2006 E 5:01 p.m.
Feeling-- lethargic
Reading-- The Princess Diaries, Volume IV and a Half: Project Princess by Meg Cabot
Listening to-- nothing

Nan, my Aunt Colleen and my lil cousins, Megan, Rachel and Katie came up from Utah overnight this weekend. They stayed at a local hotel, where we visited and then went out to dinner at Baj�o's--after we discovered Gringo's and the Hard Hat Steakhouse and Grill both were full till about eight last night. Then we went back to the hotel and Mom, Kami, her friend Ryan and I continued our visit with them.

Both Nan and Colleen asked me questions about my new project/job--I love saying "My new job!" *grins* I answered them as best as I could with the limited knowledge I have right now (I'll know more next month at the training sessions). Eventually, since my project/job deals with voting and how to find out about the issues, we got on to the topic of politicians. And of course, I made my usual statement: "I hate politics."

Of course, being the bright and quick-witted woman she is, Aunt Colleen immediately picked up on the irony. "And so, naturally, you get a job teaching other people about that very thing," she commented, amused.

Uh huh, ironic indeed. *laughs* That thought had briefly occurred to me too while I was in the waiting-to-hear phase. I laughed with her and said, "Yeah, I know."

"Naturally," she said again, smiling and settling back more comfortably on the sofa with her book.

So yeah, I hate politics, but I'm gonna help teach about finding out about the issues and about voting. Sometimes I do love irony--when it's amusing.

While I do see the humor in and appreciate the irony of my new project/job, I also see the seriousness and importance of knowing about the issues and voting. Our country's future and future leadership are determined by the active participation of its populace. Who we elect into office determines the course of the next four to eight years (speaking presidentially), but really--as most of if not all of us know--this goes for all levels of elections: city, county, state and national. Who we elect as our leaders determines (with some influence from us again) what legislation will and will not be passed. And because we are a democracy and have the power to choose our leaders and to vote on certain laws and acts, we have the responsibilty to be as informed as we can be by being aware of the issues and therefore, making our voices heard by voting. Watching the past two presidential administrations has taught me that.

So it's with excitement, nervousness and pride that I look forward to this job/project.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE