Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Alchera Project: Christmas Traditions
12-11-2005 E 1:00 p.m.
Feeling-- annoyed
Reading-- Familiar Tale by Caroline Burnes
Listening to-- nothing

Got my comp back and figured out the Internet problem. All it was was a loose connection to the DSL box--which we have yet to fix--but, I did have some viruses in my registery and I think elsewhere, so they were removed. However, I've recently discovered, upon trying to reupdate everything (when I got my comp back I found the repairman had downgraded my programs in the browser and messengers), I can't download and install them like I should. It took me all afternoon, before I gave up, trying to download IE 6 and security package for Windows ME. And it says I can't load the DLL Library to install the latest version of Yahoo! Messenger because a file is missing. I stupidly lost both MSN and Yahoo! messengers in trying to get the newer versions. Yet, I can access webpages and web-based games on Yahoo! and MSN.com. It doesn't make sense!! I just want my computer working as it should, so I can not mess with Dad's and so I can personalize mine the way I want. I'm frustrated to the point where nothing else that used to be fun feels fun anymore. I just want things working!

********
The Alchera Project this month is all about options, Christmas and winter. I usually do the free-write, list or "A Picture is Worth a 1,000 Words..." options, but this December I've decided to do the Grab Bag option. (Btw, this my second entry.)

I chose Option No. One of the Grab Bag.
With three or more of the following words, write a poem, short story, or otherwise creative work of fiction or nonfiction.

This isn't going to be the first Christmas that's been different for my family, but it's going to be the most significantly different we've had thus far. And I know from now on, Christmases in the future will not be the same as they were even two years ago. This year, it will just be my parents, Kami, Aubree and me. Oh, Michael will be home from Iraq by Christmas Eve, we hope and believe and pray, but he will mostly likely be holed up with Jen and Cannon for much of the holiday season--understandably. He has not been with his wife and baby boy since July. 'Course we haven't seen him since July either, but we've become the extended family now. So, while we may see Michael and his family, he's not going to spend all Christmas Day with us. And Jon, of course, is in the Dominican Republic on his mission.

Growing up we kids had our own set of traditions, in addition to family ones regarding the holidays, especially revolving around Christmas Eve. Leading up to that magical night, however, we were the typical kids, sitting by the tree, longingly ogling the pile of presents that grew slowly over the passing weeks beneath the fresh aromatic limbs of the decorated evergreen standing in our living room. We'd admire them, pick them up and gently shake them, wondering aloud what they could be, impatient for the long-awaited day when we'd be allowed to open them.

Another favorite tradition of ours--that has since waned as we've gotten older--was a storybook countdown to Christmas. Each night a different child would pick a wrapped "present" laid out underneath Mom's personal tree, all decorated in blue, white and silver, he or she would tear the paper off and Mom would read the story. Some of my favorite stories were, and still are, How the Grinch Stole Christmas, The Polar Express, The Friendly Beasts and The Christmas Oranges. Those nights as a family are fond and precious memories that I wish I could pass on to children of my own. They are memories of Christmases past that stand out more than others, and always will even though there are plenty of others with equal power and depth that have made and hopefully will continue to make Christmas a most special, heartwarming time of the year for me. Maybe this tradition is what started me doing a countdown of my own...

A third tradition our parents tried fostering with us were our own small (fake) Christmas trees. We could decorate them any way we wanted. Dad helped us string whatever kind of lights we wanted on them, either white or multicolored. Mom bought small scale ornaments and garlands of tinsel to put on the baby trees. Their trunks were set in weighted pieces of burlap wrapped up around them and tied with a festive Holiday Red bow. We put them in our rooms, on bookcases, nightstands or shelves, wherever there was room and we could easily see them. It was a novelty for me that first year or so that we did the small trees, but for some reason afterwards, that tradition never interested me enough to continue. Perhaps I was just too old when my parents tried it.

My sisters and brothers liked decorating their rooms for Christmas. They'd string lights around their rooms, mostly at their windows. But as they've gotten older, I think it's become a tradition of Christmases past. Which is kind of sad to see--beloved traditions falling by the wayside or being left behind, echoes of beautiful memories as children grow up.

Which is why I've decided this year to take part in one last tradition we kids still have. I've not participated in it for several years now--I've become a fuddy-duddy adult who likes her own room...which is downstairs. (I can get more sleep this way. Besides, I don't have to be lugged up and down the stairs anymore.) We kids camp out in one room on Christmas Eve. My brother, Michael, started this one. Of course, we never got much sleep; the combined anticipation was too great. We'd giggle and whisper and talk and speculate. I remember one time, Michael, ever the enterprising soul, hid one walkie talkie amidst the presents under the tree in hopes of trying to "catch Santa" at his work. He had the other one up in the room with us.

We never did catch that jolly old elf. He was too elusive for kids who made a valiant effort, but in the end who couldn't stay awake.

This year I've agreed to sleep in the same room with Kami and Aubree. This Christmas is already going to be too different without saying syanara to one of the few remaining traditions we kids have. The times, they are a-changing, and it isn't always easy to see them do so. Especially when it's Christmas.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE