Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
"The Friendly Beasts"
12-21-2002 E 6:06 p.m.
Good evening all. We got more snow! And so the weatherman redeemed himself, as it came when he said it would.

When we were younger, Mom tried to start a new tradition as a way to count down the days till Christmas. She'd wrapped books/short stories and put them under her tree in the family room--the main tree stands majestically in the living room. Every night, starting December 1st, the family would gather there and one child was chosen to pick a "present." (This also appeased our young desire to open a present before Christmas.) That child would unwrap the book and then Mom would read it.

I'm sorry to say this tradition has faded as we kids have gotten older. Other traditions and pursuits have gained our attention now, though Aubree tries valiantly each year to keep this tradition. After all, she's still young enough to have an interest in it.

The story/poem I'm gonna share with you tonight is one that Mama has read to us during the years we remained faithful to this tradition. One of my favorites, it's called * "The Friendly Beasts."

Jesus, our brother, strong and good,
Was humbly born in a stable rude,
And the friendly beasts around Him stood,
Jesus, our brother, strong and good.

"I," said the donkey, shaggy and brown,
"I carried His mother uphill and down,
I carried her safely to Bethlehem town;
"I," said the donkey, shaggy and brown.

"I," said the cow, all white and red,
"I gave Him my manger for His bed,
I gave Him my hay to pillow His head;
I," said the cow, all white and red.

"I," said the sheep with curly horn,
"I gave Him my wool for His blanket warm,
He wore my coat on Christmas morn;
I," said the sheep, with curly horn.

"I," said the dove, from the rafters high,
"Cooed Him to sleep, my mate and I,
We cooed Him to sleep, my mate and I;
I," said the dove, from the rafters high.

And every beast, by some good spell,
In the stable dark was glad to tell,
Of the gift he gave Immanuel,
The gift he gave Immanuel.

I don't know who wrote this, but isn't this a neat poem?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Friends are angels who lift us to our feet when our wings have trouble remembering how to fly.

..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE