Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
An Interesting Convo
08-29-2002 E 8:36 p.m.
I had an interesting conversation this afternoon with someone I used to talk with about a year or so ago. He was pretty intense back then, kinda like Abe and Greywethr, only a bit more dark and bleak where life was concerned. My natural instinct to route for the underdog--for that is what he was and is--compelled me to take him under my wing to try and help him see the silver lining in things. But like many males once his mind was made up, it never changed. He was literally a lost soul; he admitted it freely. The sad and frustrating part was he had given up on ever achieving happiness and had let life continue to beat him down. Nothing I could say a year or so ago could make a difference.

Then something everyone dreads happened. He was told he had cancer and had only months to live. After that his whole life changed. He lost his job, his wife of one month left him, he lost everything he said. Only to find out after extensive tests that the doctors were mistaken.

But he wasn't bitter. On the contrary, as we talked today, even though he still had a submissive and why fight attitude he wasn't bleak or dark. And he mentioned God. Before, it was "He doesn't care." Now it's "I'm happy because there is God." He lets life wash over him and carry him wherever it wills like the currents of a river. But he says when he gets back home to Malta (he's on a trip here to the U.S.), he'll have to rebuild his life. Which I hope he makes a good one.

I'm glad he's gonna live, I'm glad he has a modified outlook. It's sad though that it took a life threatening experience to change him. But recalling previous chats with him when he was a lost soul, something of that magnitude was indeed inevitable for him to change. He's had a hard life, he should be entitled to a lil peace and a lot of happiness. But as I told him, life is a challenge. We can choose to fight and succeed, or we can give up and let it defeat us.

Sometimes I should take my own advice when it's this sound.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"The gods help them that help themselves."

~Aesop~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE