Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
A Bad Habit?
11-03-2004 E 3:05 p.m.
*sigh of relief* Bush won. Both the electoral vote and the popular vote by more than 50%! Yay! is all I can say. That, and how surprised I am by the voting yesterday. (I did go vote, btw.) I'm surprised because, on the net, I'm surrounded by people who were pro-Kerry. Even Heather's boyfriend, Acidcrawl, wanted Kerry as president. Except for my family and a few people I know around here, all I kept hearing and seeing was how Bush is an idiot, how he needed to be voted out of office and Kerry needed to be put in. Thus I gained the impression Kerry had a lot of support, more so than President Bush.

So, watching the news last night on the election coverage, I was on edge--and I didn't want to go to bed till there was some guarantee of Bush's victory. With all I heard in the days leading up to Election Day I feared it would be a close race. Even seeing and knowing Bush was ahead, watching the news, I still had a feeling Kerry might well pull ahead and take the election. It's been done before, when Bush Senior ran for a second term and lost to Clinton. If I remember right, Bush Senior was ahead by a slight margin by the time I had to go to bed. In the morning I woke up to disappointment over the news Clinton had won. So, rememebering that earlier election I was afraid history would repeat itself, only this time with a different Bush and a different Democratic opponent.

So yeah, I was pleasantly surprised to see so many red states to only a handful of blue states. And I was more surprised to hear Bush was ahead in the popular vote too. I guess the majority of America doesn't think Bush has done too badly, in spite of some dubious decisions, if he won both votes. Which he did. Hallelujah, amen.

************
It came to my attention last month that I am an Internet-comfort shopper. I prefer to buy things off the net to buying them in the stores. 'Course, most of the things I buy aren't commonly found in the stores anymore, since they are sometimes older items no longer available. And my shopping sprees are almost always precipitated by downer days. Instead of seeking food as comfort, I go shopping online. When it was decided I wasn't going to move in with Heather, my best bud, I splurged on Amazon.com, buying Pandora's Box, a computer game Jessy got me addicted to a few years ago and an old Shelley Long movie from the 80s: Hello Again. I probably shouldn't have. But at the time I had the money and I felt justified. As I was doing it I realized there have been other times when I've bought stuff from Amazon that I've been down. That it was a comfort to know I was spoiling myself. *sheepish look* I really need to watch it though, or I could get into some kind of trouble if I let this addiction get out of hand. *half smile* Then I really would need someone to take away this computer of mine!
You must learn to face the fact, always, that you choose to do what you do, and that everything you do affects not only you but others.
~Holly Lisle, Fire In The Mist~

..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE