Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
The Twelve Months
12-31-2003 E 4:01 p.m.
My book of fairy tales from around the world came today. *two thumbs up* I bought it solely for one of my favorite fairy tales; however, it's the wrong version. Same concept, but wrong version. However, I managed to trip over the right--well, my favorite--version as I took a detour to the Russian fairy tale page while looking for a fairy tale from my book to share with y'all. And I think it's quite fitting to end a month or year with a tale about the twelve months.

All I could find was a short version of this tale, but I doubt that will trouble you. I love it because it personifies the twelve months, who through their ancient and natural magic, help a young girl named Onya with impossible tasks set before her because she was kind and respected them. I was first introduced to this tale when I was about 12 or 13. It was an animated film that we rented. Naturally I fell in love with it at once.

Without further babbling, here is the tale (woefully shortened, of course) of:

The Twelve Months
Once there lived an evil, greedy woman who loved her own daughter and hated her virtuous, hardworking stepdaughter. On a very cold day in January, she sent her poor stepdaughter to the forest to pick snowdrops for her stepsister's birthday.

"But the snowdrops won't be blooming for another two months, at least!" cried the poor girl." Her stepmother said, "I don't want to hear about it. Go out there and find them and don't come back until you do."

Since the girl had no choice, she started walking through the frozen woods. She walked further and further and got colder and colder, but there wasn't a living thing to be seen. The wind began to blow and the snow began to fall.

Suddenly, she came out into a clearing where she saw twelve men, from very young to very old, dressed in rich clothes. They asked her why she was out at night in the forest during a snowstorm. She bowed politely to them and told them that her stepmother had ordered her to pick snowdrops for her stepsister. The twelve months felt sorry for her, and decided to help her.

January, who looked like a very old man, took his cane, hit the ground with it, and chanted a spell. Around them, that cold first month of the year passed by within seconds. He then gave the cane to February, and the same thing happened, and then the cane went to March, who made flowers spring up all over the glade. She picked great armfuls of tender spring flowers and put them in her basket.

When she returned home and told what had happened to her in the forest, the jealous stepmother let her own daughter go to the glade to ask the twelve months for berries, mushrooms, apples and cucumbers. The girl found the glade and the twelve months around the big fire. But this daughter was rude to them and did not get anything. January waved his hand and she was buried in thick layers of snow. Her mother tried to find her, but also was frozen to death.

The kindhearted stepdaughter lived long and happily. In May she had the freshest flowers in her house, in June the best berries, and in September the best apples. People said that the twelve months visited her regularly and always gave her their blessings.

This doesn't do the version I remember justice, but it gives you an idea of how the fairy tale goes. The version I have in my book comes from modern Greece and instead of the young girl, the Twelve Months help a widow with many children.

I love my book. I went through the Table of Contents and it has tales from West Europe, the UK, the Far East and India, Africa, North America and Asia. It even tales from Native American tribes! How luckier could I get when I bought this book? I mean, for a fairy tale lover like me I've hit the jackpot! I'm going to go see if I can find the animated version...
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Exuberance is beauty.
~William Blake~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE