Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Remembering Childhood Stories
09-06-2004 E 2:23 p.m.
As I've kept thinking to myself this past week, I can't believe 2004 is almost over! It still seemed so new, but...time dost marcheth on.

Michael goes to Japan tomorrow for three weeks. He's always wanted to go there...even on his mission. now, with the National Guard he'll have his chance. I hope he enjoys the experience as best as he can. He's not going over there as a tourist.

**********
I haven't done a Chocolate Box entry in awhile, so I figured now would be a good time for it. In Winnie the Pooh's life the best parts of childhood and adulthood join together from the child's point of view. Winnie the Pooh is a happy go-lucky bachelor who does not have a family to burden or to delight him. Pooh also has time for lots of things he likes to do, without any obligations. This is an ideal situation which fascinates all people irrespective of age.

Milne's play with words also appeals to readers of all ages. For example, in the episode in which Christopher Robin leads an Expotition to the North Pole, the exciting thing is that the characters don't know what they are looking for, but they still keep looking.

For far too many young people the classics of children's literature are largely usurped by television.

Activities

1) Recall your favourite childhood story and write down as much of the storyline as you can can remember without looking at the text. After you have finished locate a copy of the story and check to see what you have remembered and what you have ommitted.

As a child I was a Dr. Seuss fanatic. I loved The Cat In the Hat, How the Grinch Stole Christmas and Yurtle the Turtle. Mom could practically recite Dr. Seuss and rhyme like him in her sleep, thanks to my love for his silly, yet endearing tales. I was only two or three, but that was the beginning of many subsequent operations. Because I was in pain and laid up with either a body cast or leg casts, Mom would read to me to help pass the time. She says I would insist on her reading Dr. Seuss, either Yurtle the Turtle or How the Grinch Stole Christmas the most, depending on the season. I do remember that, especially asking for Yurtle the Turtle nearly every night. *chuckles* I knew that story by heart almost as well as she did! We practically wore that book out, I think. *shakes head, fondly remembering*

I don't know why I liked that story so much; I haven't read it in ages. And if I had a copy at hand I'd definitely reread it to see what magic it had that had me so enthralled. Yurtle was the king of turtles. He was mean and prideful, and I remember he wanted to be high so he could survey all of his land. He had the turtles climb onto each other's backs, then he himself climbed the ladder of turtles. He sat up there on his fellows' backs for a long time and then loneliness set in. (If anybody knows this story and recognizes I'm mucking it up here, please tell me.) All I remember after this is the tower of turtles comes crashing down and Yurtle is humbled. I think. Perhaps it was just the Dr. Seuss magic that held me in thrall.

Whatever the case, it was and is a cute story. If I'm lucky enough to have kids, I'll read Dr. Seuss to them.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE