Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Why Does It Seem So Much Has Happened?
03-24-2003 E 5:25 p.m.
You know that critical paper I was bemoaning two or three weeks ago? Yeah, the same one I was sure I bombed... I got an A.

Shiloh--A very effective balance between creative form and thoughtful content. As a "critical paper," this stages (literally :)) an important debatable reading issue and "conspires w/quotes" effectively to build an intelligent "answer." Brava. A.
    Cathy

I was stunned. Personally, I felt had I come up with the idea that I ended up going with two or three days earlier, I could have done the paper more justice. As it was, with all the hoopla she made about how serious this paper was, I felt it might get a C at best. Obviously, however, from her comments she was thrilled with most of my "talk show" script. Heck, I'm thrilled with the grade I got, typos and all. Stunned, thrilled and relieved. I just hope I can live up to this one or do better justice with the next critical paper.

*********
I feel like a lot has happened since I updated last, but really that's not the case. I really don't know why I feel this way, but I do. Poor Egypt became trapped downstairs Saturday evening and spent his night down there. When Mom finally figured out where he was, she sure got an earful from that wronged feline. *laughs*

Spring Break ended and it was back to writing yet another paper. Yippee-skippy. *sarcastic tone and a twirl of index finger in the air* Once again I have my doubts about her reception of this latest paper. I know, I know. All my papers thus far in this lit. class have received good marks, but this time I really didn't talk about the content or literary aspects of zee text we read. I talked about the question it raised foremost in my mind. I recognized it as part of a tale revolving around Arthurian legend, a brief, happy but stolen moment in the sad story of Tristam and Isolde.

King Arthur, Excaliber and the rest has always interested me, so in high school I did a research paper on him. I was intrigued (but not disappointed) that he actually was most likely a Breton war chief or general who kept the Romans from invading his land for at least 20 years. Excaliber and the magnificent circle of tales surrounding him that make him and Camelot an unforgettable legend, it seems are fiction, written in the courtly way people of the Middle Ages viewed love. (Did that make sense, or did I spout gibberish just now?)

Anyway, back to my question in the paper I just turned in today. If Arthur was real--and he was--could that also mean King Mark of Cornwall or either of zee lovers had also been real? I was more interested in finding out than in trying to wade through an analysis of the romance tradition in medieval writings. So, instead of zee text, I focused mainly on the characters themselves and finding a bit of truth amid the fantasy. Where it isn't a literary paper so to speak, I'm not at all sure she'll go for it. I know, I've said that before and it's been ok, but this time I think I went out on a longer limb than may be acceptable. I'll find out Wednesday. =os

And Jessy finally had her sonogram today. We're gonna have a little boy in our family come this summer!!! I'm gonna have a lil nephew! Can ya tell I'm excited? LOL. They are gonna start thinking up boys' names now.

Really, that's all that's happened since the last update, but as I keep saying, it feels like so much more has happened. I wonder if it's because I was so shocked when I saw her end comments with the A. Who knows?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Stupidity is not a handicap. Park elsewhere!


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE