Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Paint With All the Colors of the Wind
03-25-2003 E 8:30 p.m.
The other night Heather surprised me by stopping by with the CDs she burned for me--thanks sweetie--and we briefly visited. LOL. She has some CDs I've been wanting, but haven't had the time nor money to buy. She graciously offered to burn copies for me in exchange for burning copies of my CDs that she liked but didn't have. We both thought it a fair exchange and so voila! we each saved the other some expenses. I know she saved me some $100+.

One of the CDs she copied for me is "Manheim Steamroller (I love them!) Meets the Mouse." And you know me and Disney. Mickey and I are like this *holds up crossed fingers in the sign that shows a close bond*. Anyway the band does their own versions of Disney classics like Chim Chim Cheroo and Under the Sea. Of course, it's an instant classic and fave of mine. And I think this song is on there as well.

Colors of the Wind
You think you own whatever land you land on;
The earth is just a dead thing you can claim;
But I know every rock and tree and creature
Has a life, has a spirit, has a name.

You think the only people who are people
Are the people who look and think like you,
But if you walk the footsteps of a stranger
You'll learn things you never knew you never knew.

Have you ever heard the wolf cry to the blue corn moon,
Or asked the grinning bobcat why he grinned?
Can you sing with all the voices of the mountain?
Can you paint with all the colors of the wind?
Can you paint with all the colors of the wind?

Come run the hidden pine trails of the forest,
Come taste the sunsweet berries of the earth;
Come roll in all the riches all around you,
And for once never wonder what they're worth.

The rainstorm and the river are my brothers;
The heron and the otter are my friends;
And we are all connected to each other
In a circle, in a hoop that never ends.

(Have you ever heard the wolf cry to the blue corn moon,
Or let the eagle tell you where he's been.
Can you sing with all the voices of the mountain?
Can you paint with all the colors of the wind?
Can you paint with all the colors of the wind?)

How high does the sycamore grow?
If you cut it down, then you'll never know.
And you'll never hear the wolf cry to the blue corn moon,
For whether we are white or copper-skinned,
We need to sing with all the voices of the mountain,
Need to paint with all the colors of the wind.

You can own the earth and still
All you'll own is earth until...
You can paint with all the colors of the wind!

Vanessa Williams

I chose to post this song to tonight for two reasons. 1) As you know I happen to love most anything Native American; and 2) (this is the main reason) even though it's referring to how people should be open to other ways of life and different peoples, I think it in some way applies to attitudes about this war.

I talked to Nan today and she told me about a hockey game she caught on tv. The U.S. I guess, went to Canada to play a game and when they played our National Anthem, people booed. Now you don't have to agree with what we're doing people, but for heaven's sake YOU CAN AT LEAST BE POLITE AND ACT MATURE! Your booing was so uncalled for. And besides there are other ways, less rude ways for you to demonstrate your opinion. Be creative and find one to declare how you feel. You don't have to like us, but you can darn well show a mutual respect!

Nan also wants to boycott France. I guess its response to this war isn't any more polite than Canada's. She wants us to buy up all the French wine and dump it in the river or ocean like the Boston Tea Party before boycotting any wine or champagne they try to export to the U.S. in the future.

Basically my point is this: Don't sit high on your horse thinking you're superior to other nations, because you're not. If you don't open your mind, you'll never know what you could have had or experienced. You'll never know the wonders life has in store for you, and you'll never "paint with all the colors of the wind." Grow up, world.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Don't judge a man until you've walked a mile in his moccasins.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE