Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Christmas Past and a Sisterhood
12-05-2002 E 4:35 p.m.
Good evening y'all. Happy holidays. To parrot a fellow resident of Crazyville, I can't believe it's December already. Although it's cold, it's not cold enough for December like I remember it being in years past. Also there is no snow, but unlike many in the Western or Northern states who think you cannot have a real Christmas without snow, I think Christmas can be anywhere as long as the spirit is there. I remember a Christmas in Texas. It rarely snows in Texas, so of course on that Christmas Eve there wasn't any. But this lil girl was so excited anyway for Santa to come, she wanted everyone to go to bed early.

I don't remember what age I was, no more than six probably, but that was a fun Christmas. Nan and Paw Paw's house was decorated with lights and garlands and the stockings hung along the fireplace. Mom's, mine, Nan and Paw Paw's, Aunt Colleen's and Uncle Mike's. Mom, Aunt Colleen and I were upstairs in my aunt's room I think, and I think they were trying to settle me down and into bed. I think I was chattering away about Santa's reindeer and Rudolph. I do remember I was about bouncing off the walls, I was so excited. And then...I stopped and was still. I'd heard jingle bells from a distance.

"Mama! Listen!" I cried and euphoria swelled through my lil body as I jacknifed to a sitting position in the bed. "Santa's here! I heard the bells from his sleigh."

After that I felt that I couldn't sleep. I'm sure Mom and Aunt Colleen exchanged amused and knowing glances over my young head. "I wonder if Wudolph's here too?" I pondered with a childish belief.

I can't remember their responses, but on their way out I added in sudden concern, "Don't forget to leave corn for the waindeer!"

LOL. Geez, my mother and Nan have a heyday remembering all the lil things I said or did, and some of 'em are embarrassing to hear about.

But yeah, Christmas can be anywhere--even without snow--though I admit it adds atmosphere.

2002 seems to have flown. I remeber on New Year's Eve last year I couldn't wait for the new year. I felt like I was going to leave a bad year behind and 2002 was dawning fresh and bright before me. 2001 dragged forever it seemed; 2002 is now nearly over. I can't believe it. Compared to last year, it's been better. A cake walk almost. And I only hope 2003 will be even better than this year.

******
I think I found a kindred spirit in a fellow Diarylander. We seem to have a number of similiar tastes. She led me to this site, which of course, I found charming. Well, you know me and faeries.
Your fairy name is Feather Hailglitter...
You are a Protector of the lonely.

You live in high places where the clouds meet the earth. You are only seen in the light of a shooting star.

*gives a delicate snort* A very apt description, although the loneliness comes and goes. Though if I had my way, they wouldn't be called lonely. In fact, Heather decided we should form a sisterhood for this very thang, or situation... We're ok-being-single-but-we-wouldn't-mind-being-married. Or our-friends-are-marrying-while-we-cannot-find-prospects-for-ourselves. Already we've thrown out the titles bachelorettes, Lonely Hearts and spinsters. We aren't hoping to remain single all our lives; we aren't desperate--yet--enough to seek our Mr. Rights in the personals; and we don't spin wool into yarn. Or straw into gold. Though if we did, I have a feeling we'd be proposed to at least a dozen times a day. LOL. So I gotta grab some rain clouds and brew up a good brainstorm. Got any ideas?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Absense makes the heart grow fonder...of someone else.

..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE