Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Wishing On a Star
10-05-2004 E 2:35 p.m.
Spiffy new layout eh? As the season is changing I wanted something different. I wanted something dark and magical--I've decided I'm not one for light backgrounds...much. *coughs, knowing she has white prominiently on her site* Ahem, yeah. I had several pics picked out that I really liked, however when I started playing with the limited possibilities my tired mind came up with, none worked. Oh sure, the pictures work just fine; I just need to broaden my scope of vision, but at the time nada was working in my favor.

Then the theme song from a mini-series I have from NBC popped into my head one night. It's a beautiful song, only two minutes and some odd seconds long, but I could put it on repeat and just listen to the melody again and again as it transports me to the fairy tale world of the 9 Kingdoms. (*sheepish grin* Uh huh, me and my fairy tales. The mini-series is called The 10th Kingdom, our world, or New York City, being that kingdom dubbed so by three trolls who followed Snow White's grandson, Prince Wendell through a magic traveling mirror.)

All the sudden, I knew this was the theme I wanted. So I set about making an image that reflected me as a dreamer and was the essense of magic and wistfulness. (Though to be honest, I think I captured whimsy instead...but the magic is still there. *holds up a forefinger*) But the image I had made with brushes wasn't working either. =os I had a monochromatic color scheme of purple going--my favorite color--but in order for the brushes to look good the background needed to be almost white. As I said I was hoping for a dark background. So that idea was scrapped. But the theme remained with me; I really wanted Wishing On a Star.

I even thought of using unicorn pictures I'd found, and I guess that was my stroke of good luck because it was while searching for unicorn pics I found this background. And from there the layout you see is what evolved from it. Here's the song:

Wishing On a Star
I'm wishing on a star
To follow where you are
I'm wishing on a dream
To follow what it means

I'm wishing on a star
To follow where you are
I'm wishing on a dream
To follow what it means

And I wish on all the rainbows that I see
I wish on all the people who really dream
And I'm wishing on tomorrow, praying it never comes
And I'm wishing on all the loving we've never done

I never thought I'd see
A time when you would be
So far away from home
So far away from me

Just think of all the moments that we'd spent
I just can't let you go from me; you were meant
And I didn't mean to hurt you but I know
That in the game of love you reap what you sow

I'm wishing on a star
To follow where you are
I'm wishing on a dream
To follow what it means

And I wish on all the rainbows that I see
And I wish on all the people we've ever been
And I'm hoping on all the days to come and days to go
And I'm hoping on days of loving you so

I'm wishing on a star
I'm wishing on all the rainbows that I see
I'm wishing on a star
(Star, star)

Miriam Stockley

Ok, now I'm wanting to watch this again.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE