Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Try It Sometime: Wheel a Mile In Someone Else's Wheelchair
01-29-2004 E 3:40 p.m.
Ok, now for the long-awaited P-O-Y topic of the week. (Remember, this is my second entry of the day.)

This week's topic is a poignant one. Does your lifestyle now depend very greatly on the use of your legs, your sight, your hands or some other natural body function? How would your life differ if you lost that ability? How would you cope? How would you feel?

This is a good and thoughtful issue, as was its intent. It made me think indeed; and I could go one of two ways here. I could fall in with everyone else and choose one thing I rely on heavily, or I could turn this topic around a bit. If you read my journal fairly regularly, you'll know I have C.P. and am in a wheelchair. I already do without a lot--in the sense the proposer meant. I am not paralyzed and have feeling everywhere, but I cannot walk. I cannot bear weight (stand) and I cannot transfer from place to place on my own. I will always be dependent on someone else to help me with things most people don't even think about, but do automatically, like go to bed when you're tired. Or make yourself a sandwich when you're hungry. I cannot reach cupboards or shelves to make myself anything. I need help.

People go through life not thinking. They take for granted the fact they can walk and go anywhere. Stairs usually pose no problem for them...unless they have arthiritis(sp?). Taking care of biological needs are no problem. Unless you're older and your body or mind refuses to function as it did 30 or 40 years ago and you're now dependent on those who care for you. People take for granted the fact they can do most anything that makes them self-sufficient.

The questions ask what my lifestyle relies on the most and how my life would differ if that was taken away. I rely on the help and compassion of others. Without that... *shrugs helplessly* I dunno. I'm sure I'd find a way; I'm a survivor.

But I ask you to think how your life would be if you were the one almost totally dependent on others for help. If you had to get around in a wheelchair. How would you feel? It's a sore point with me that people don't think. You may try (like sticking bars on either wall of bathroom stalls and pronouncing it wheelchair accessible), but until you are actually sitting in a wheelchair yourself and abiding by the limitations that environment places upon you, you won't be able to understand what life is like for us who are in wheelchairs and what is really wheelchair accessible. Try it sometime.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE