Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Triple the Topics
01-31-2003 E 5:13 p.m.
The last day of January. My, how time flies...

I have three topics today, so be prepared for abrupt changes in gears.

The first is I've chosen my topic for the second Lit. paper, due Mon. The editors of the textbook have taken exerpts from the Revised Standard Version of the Bible. We LDS use the King James version. The main difference I notice--well, there are two, but for the sake of brevity and more detail in my paper--is the plain speech. The former version uses "you" and "I." Our version, the latter, uses the formal "thee," "thine," "thou art" and "thou." This difference is what I'll be speaking of. Well, it's the only thing that struck me the most.

*******
You know, watching (or more appropriately in my case, listening to) recent shows on the History Channel about the Seven Wonders and ancient peoples is shaping a new opinion of them for me. I'm beginning to think in regards to using their noggins engineering and architectual wise, they were ingenious and true masters. Now, in trading and interacting with foreign peoples they weren't too shabby either. In fact, as I see it they were kinda more advanced than we, if we have to sit and try to figure out how they made their marvellous works, such as the pyramids or the hanging gardens built by the Babylonian king, Nebucanezzer(sp?). We are called the Technological Age. If this assessment is true, then surely the ancient peoples belonged to the Architectual Age.
********
In the last week of Grieving, we have talked about the process of dying and Near Death Experiences (NDEs). All the NDEs substantiate there is life after death, that our spirits go on in some form or another to a different plane of existence. There are both positive and negative experiences. Either way though, they're life-altering.

People who've tried suicide and been unsuccessful said that they realized suicide was a mistake. They'd tried to escape pain or tribulation, but they really hadn't. It was still with them on the other side. They also felt they'd broken a rule or law by trying to take their life.

Afterwards the people live better or more spiritual lives. They make sure life is lived to the fullest.

On the way home Mom turned the radio on. An old favorite of mine by Mike and the Mechanics came on, eeriely adding its two cents to taking the time to tell others how you feel before death steals them away.

The Living Years

Every generation
Blames the one before,
And all of their frustrations
Come beating on your door.

I know that I'm a prisoner
To all my Father held so dear
I know that I'm a hostage
To all his hopes and fears
I just wish I could have told him
In the living years

Crumpled bits of paper,
Filled with imperfect thought;
Stilted conversations,
I'm afraid that's all we've got.

You say you just don't see it;
He says it's perfect sense.
You just can't get agreement
In this present tense.
We all talk a different language,
Talking in defense.

Say it loud, say it clear
You can listen as well as you hear.
It's too late when we die
To admit we don't see eye to eye.

So we open up a quarrel
Between the present and the past
We only sacrifice the future.
It's the bitterness that lasts...

So don't yield to the fortunes
You sometimes see as fate.
It may have a new perspective
On a different day,
And if you don't give up, and don't give in
You may just be O.K.

Say it loud, say it clear
You can listen as well as you hear.
It's too late when we die
To admit we don't see eye to eye.

I wasn't there that morning
When my Father passed away.
I didn't get to tell him
All the things I had to say.

I think I caught his spirit
Later that same year.
I'm sure I heard his echo
In my baby's new born tears.
I just wish I could have told him
In the living years

Say it loud, say it clear
You can listen as well as you hear.
It's too late when we die
To admit we don't see eye to eye.

P.S. If any of you are interested in the 10 components of NDEs or would be interested if I went into more detail 'bout NDEs in a future entry, let me know. (In other words, please respond with feedback to this idea.)

..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE