Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
The Right Words For September
09-14-2003 E 3:08 p.m.
Ok, try two. I guess I got typing too fast trying to keep up with my brain here and some fingers slipped, hitting the just right combo of keys thereby making the keyboard unresponsive. So I had to reboot. Otherwise, I would be halfway done with this here entry. =os Oh well.

It doesn't look like we'll get an Indian summer this year. It's definitely been several degrees cooler than what we've experienced this summer, and as I'm in a wheelchair and have poor circulation in my legs (you are so lucky, Warda) I've had to pile on the blankets a bit. Persephone and Hades sure musta made up to Demeter's displeasure and dismay. But that's ok. Perhaps we need a coolness after the unbelievable heat of the past summer.

Thom, a fellow diarist, found *a poem that describes the month of September perfectly. For days now, I've been trying to find the right words to describe how I feel about Fall, especially September, but my attempts seemed so inadequate.

Absolute September

How hard it is to take September
straight--not as a harbinger
of something harder.

Merely like suds in the air, cool scent
scrubbed clean of meaning--or innocent
of the cold thing coldly meant.

How hard the heart tugs at the end
of summer, and longs to haul it in
when it flies out of hand at the prompting
of the first mild breeze.

It leaves us by degrees
only, but for one who sees
summer as an absolute,

Pure State of Light and Heat, the height
to which one cannot raise a doubt,
as soon as one leaf's off the tree
no day following can fall free
of the drift of melancholy.

Mary Jo Salter

That's exactly what September is, "scrubbed clean of meaning--or innocent of the cold thing coldly meant." The temperatures drop from July and August's "pure state of Light and Heat" to a crisp and fresh coolness commanding a person's attention by proclaiming regally, "Fall is here!"

She also captured perfectly the wistfulness and longing of many people who wish to hold on to Summer as long as they can. And the melancholy of the first fallen leaf.

But she also captured a third aspect of Semptember. I don't know when she wrote this, whether it was before 09-11-2001 or just after, but she caught the more ominious or sobering tone that is forevermore associated with the month. I thank Thom for sharing the poem with those of us who read him.

One last thing before I bid y'all adieu. I've really surprised myself this Fall with how early I've gotten into the spirit of Halloween. It's not even October! Those who know me know I rant if I see any holiday stuff in stores a month before the specific holiday. In fact, I've ranted in here numerous times on such a topic. But this time I'm all ready for ghosts, jack-o-lanterns and witches. (I'm always ready for vampires. *winks*) I dunno what my deal is. Perhaps it's because I have no school to distract me?

*I decided to copy the poem here for when I print out this journal, but please read his take on the poet's words.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~by Milan~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE