Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Have Self-Confidence Before a Relationship
01-16-2004 E 12:17 p.m.
P-O-Y has allowed us this coming week to write on whatever comes to our minds. Next week's topic is being posted a day early and for the first time, it's your own choice. Write about whatever you would like. Let us know what's on your mind. Tell us a story or send in an artistic creation that you have made. Anything goes.

Anything goes... What's on my mind, you ask? Milo, but he's not what I want to talk about here. I hope my friend Heather forgives me for bringing her into this, but perhaps she'll find comfort in that I'll be talking about my brother's girlfriend as well and this is not a reflection on either her or Natalie. It's just an observation I've come to over the past month, listening to Heather talk about Nobody and Jon voice his frustrations concerning Natalie's growing possessiveness and paranoia.

I want to talk about the differences between men and women; and no, this is not the observation that's recently come to my awareness. I'll get to that in a minute. Men are, by heridity, logical creatures. Women, on the other hand are, by heridity, emotional creatures. This has been known for ages. I am, by my own admission, a very emotional creature. I am woman, after all.

But after listening to Heather and being her sounding board and listening to Jon express his bewilderment and frustrations with Natalie's sudden insecure attitude about their relationship and how she's become like an extra appendage (my phrase) whenever he wants to hang out with the guys (or do anything else), I can see why we women drive men nuts or away. Heck, I'm a woman and this paranoia and clingyness drives me nuts! That's my observation.

Jon's a senior in high school, and he's woken up to the fact his high school era is about over. He want's to be the 17-year-old kid he is and hang out with his other friends before life separates them most likely for a good long while. And though he still likes Natalie as much as ever he wants to see and experience new things to see if he's found everything he wants in an eternal companion. Plus, there is his mission. That will take two yeasrs of his life in the Lord's service, rendered gladly. He's also going to Alaska this summer to work for a month in a cannery. He's a 17-year-old kid who wants to experience life. They should not be in a full-fledged relationship more fitting for couples over 21, yet this is how Natalie is acting. She wants to know why he doesn't find her attractive anymore, why he doesn't like her, why he doesn't spend as much time with her as he used to. Why isn't he affectionate like he used to be? Why doen't he hold her hand a lot anymore, like he used to? And on and on. Jon asked if she wouldn't mind him hanging with two of his friends since she was having a sleepover; she asked if she could come along!

I've known Natalie almost three years now. Maybe four. She's a sweet kid, very nice, but she's fast becoming the type of girlfriend I have no compunction or problem with telling Jon to break off with. He's unhappy; she's miserable. So why prolong the misery in being together? Jon wants to back off to just being friends, but trouble is she's afraid if they do, she'll lose him totally.

Heather, I don't think was totally happy when she and Sir Nobody were together this time around. It seemed he was more laid back about the whole relationship while she was the only one actively into it. She was hoping for a ring--either promise or engagement--by Christmas. But he went about his life, ignoring her at least a week and she began thinking, perhaps she shouldn't be in any relationship. That she was a burden, which she is not!!!!

Women tend to be emotional and we overdramatize and use our wiles when we want to upset men. No wonder men feel they can't do anything right. Relationships are hard work, but they can be rewarding. Women should have the self-confidence they need if they're going to be in a relationship. If not, then don't get in one and drive your poor man nuts.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE