Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
A Screwy Ratings System
11-30-2002 E 2:35 p.m.
Howdy. In the past month our cable service has added more channels, including one I've missed since I moved back from Poky--the Tv Guide Channel. I like it because it shows you what's on now and from an hour from now on every channel available. And on its split screen it previews movies or goes behind the scenes of what will be airing. Well, when I happened recently to see if anything interesting was on, two hosts were talking "behind the scenes" about Solaris, George Clooney's new movie. They were punning the word 'behind' and talking about how his bare "assets" had caused an uproar. Originally, the rating for the movie was R, but after all the hoopla about it the Ratings Board gave it a PG rating. (At least I heard PG.)

In my mind that's ridiculous! They rated it R for a reason. Surely his nude scene wasn't the only reason? There had to be at least a few other thangs. Then the length and angle of the shot musta been considered. I don't know. All I do know is with such an uproar about it, it must be pretty risque. And pretty risque in my opinion has no place in a PG film. PG-13 is pushing it.

This leads me to an old gripe I had back in the 90s. The prophet said to watch no rated-R movies. Sound advice, indeed. Yet, in this day and age it seems some R rated shows should be rerated PG or PG-13 and somee PG-13s should be rated R. When I made this observation (some may call it a rationalization) I became so confused. But then I determined that it came down to judgement. If I thought somee PG or PG-13 movie was bad I needn't watch it, and if I thought a movie rated R was relatively clean and had a good story then I'd watch it. 'Course, you can kinda tell how bad a rated-R movie is if you watch it on tv. If it's bleeping a lot of stuff then you know not to buy it or see it in its entirety.

With Solaris it just reminded me of how screwed up our Ratings System is. We need a new one, but I don't know what.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"The road to darkness is a journey. Not a light switch."
~Lex Luthor, Smallville~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE