Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Mortality
03-11-2004 E 7:33 p.m.
Yesterday I said life [in this world] is complicated, a mixture of opposites. I maintain that and also add today that it can be all too short. And all the more precious because of that truth. We think we are invincible or that nothing can or will happen to us. But then Fate or the Lord takes us down a peg or two by reminding us how wrong we are. Mortality hits. In the blink of an eye our lives can change. Forever.

A man in his 50s gets Lou Gerrick's Disease.

A young woman of 25 finds a lump in her breast and learns she has breast cancer.

A young girl of 10 years dies immediately at the scene where she was hit by a car. Neither she nor the later-grief stricken driver had seen each other before it was too late. As a result, two families suffered from grief.

A farmer becomes pinned by the truck bed he is trying to fix and his breath is forever stolen from him. He was only 57 and my grandmother will enter 21 years of widowhood this year.

And six years ago today my great-grandmother died at the age of 88. I realize she was older than the true examples I gave above, but still, death claimed her in the end and she met her mortality head on. She has been on my mind all day and on it over the past few days. I will miss her till I can be with her again on the other side.

Really, in the eternal scheme of things mortality only lasts the proverbial blink of an eye or at the most probably what would be to the Lord two hours. Lifetimes come and go in the space of one of His days.

Over the past couple days, and maybe more for Heather, she and have I been reminded painfully of mortality. We both have loved ones (and friends) who have gone and are going the rounds with different types of cancer. My young friend from ISU has breast cancer. My paternal grandad had a bout with the prostrate type. Heather's uncle has some aggressive type and her grandmother is now fighting her own battle with cancer.

It hit home even more today when Mom and I were at her bowling league. There was a poster saying, "Bowl for the Cure. Let's wear pink, ladies!" Next week we are all to wear pink in remembrance of the fight for breast cancer. But I'll be wearing it in remembrance of all forms of cancer.

Life is too short. We aren't invincible and anything can happen to us. I learned that at the price of seizures. I too once thought nothing such as seizures, cancer or debilitating illnesses would ever touch my life. I was healthy and feeling on top of the world. I felt like one entity. Soon--all too soon after that thought and feeling--three days before my last operation I began feeling off-kilter, like my body and soul weren't in perfect sync anymore. It was then I started having anxiety and panic attacks and I'm pretty sure my first seizure. I wasn't invincible anymore. I feel my mortality every time I have seizures.

Life is too short, mortality but an instant in the eternal scheme of things. Let's not be foolish and think we have forever. Let's not waste a precious moment with things that do not count.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE