Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
A Misguided Columnist
03-08-2006 E 4:28 p.m.
Has-- almost no energy
Feeling--achy
Reading-- The Princess Diaries, Volume V: Princess In Pink by Meg Cabot
Listening to-- Time After Time by Cyndi Lauper

I'm debating about whether or not to post this entry, simply because of the topic and because my mind and energy level aren't totally up to par yet. So my logic probably won't be the best in an attempt at conveying my take on this column. However, it's the only thing capturing my attention and tempting me to write right now, so...

The title is what caught my attention first, naturally--Birth of Jesus: no reason to celebrate. As a practicing Christian, I of course, found this offensive, and as I went on to read the column I was prepared to be further offended. But I decided as I perused his essay I should withhold any judgement and anger I might feel upon reading his words until I had finished and thought about what this man was really saying. After all, a cool and reflective head is better than a hot and impulsive one. (I learned that this past summer.)

So, once I was through with the column I reread it again, this time with a more open mind. And I found I wasn't mad or offended at all. I was merely amused, if anything. Amused, because the way I see it, Tom Shakespeare, on this topic at any rate, is misguided. He totally missed the point of Jesus' ministry and miracles.

I am by far no expert on His life, ministry or miracles or even of the scriptures, so I have to admit I can't go head-to-head with Mr. Shakespeare academically and pull out certain instances or verses to prove my views. For that matter, I don't have the energy or time right now to research such instances fully. I don't even want to go head-to-head with him.

But I know enough of His nature, from my personal relationship with Christ, the teachings of my religion and from reading the scriptures, to know that the Lord's purpose was to establish His church here on Earth and to provide the way for us to return to our Father In Heaven. It was not to establish "Social Model" miracles, as Mr. Shakespeare phrased them so that the world would be more inclusive. He knew what He was doing, and He did it. Besides, it wasn't time for the Braille system or elevators or wheelchairs as we know them now. Everything has its own place and time. And even though we have our free agency and our choices affect our destinies, we still are foreordained or predestined to accomplish whatever it is we are meant to do here on Earth, like Alexander Graham Bell and the telephone. Or Louis Pasteur, who came up with the pasteurization process.

And Jesus and His disciples didn't err "in failing to accept disabled people as an oppressed minority, rather than seeing them as a series of useful opportunities to demonstrate divine status through dramatic healing." I don't believe we are oppressed. We may not be completely understood or accommodated or liked, but we certainly aren't oppressed.

I realize in places Mr. Shakespeare was most likely being facetious and I've probably taken his views too literally, but I wanted to have my say on this topic. Christ knew what He was doing. He could have done away with disabilities and other maladies altogether, or indeed do as this columnist suggested He failed at doing, perform "social model" miracles so society would be more inclusive. But then what would the destinies of those who invented the Braille system, wheelchairs and other technology that have helped make our existences easier be? What would our lives have been like? Jesus Christ knew these technological advancements would come in their own time and place, and that we as a global society need the various disabilities and other tribulations we have to learn about life and each other. To develop compassion for each other.

And that is my view on this. There is reason to celebrate His birth.


It is a fine thing to establish one's own religion in one's heart, not to be dependent on tradition and second-hand ideals. Life will seem to you, later, not a lesser, but a greater thing.
~D. H. Lawrence~

..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE