Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
People Amaze Me / In a White World
01-17-2003 E 4:15 p.m.
Gah! It's already after four! Time flies, I guess, when you're havin' fun. At least, that's what they say.

There's no school Monday because of Martin Luther King, Jr. and, of course, I have Tuesday off. So I have a four-day weekend coming up! Yippee! Happy happy, joy joy. (Ok, enough celebrating. LOL) It's plenty of time to get my homework done--I think.

My professor in SOWK is definitely a counselor. In the classroom today, she said: "Sometimes you won't feel like coming. If a topic distresses, it's ok. You don't have to come; just get notes from someone. I won't be taking attendance. I understand that at times you'll get emotional and will want to leave the room. I'll understand if you just get up and leave, just be sure to let me know you're ok. I'll worry about till you do."

I've never had a professor tell any class that it was ok not to come to class. I wonder if my surprise showed on my face? It's also more proof that there's always a first.

I can't believe it's Friday again! Thursday seems ages ago. And that was only yesterday! I must have a poor sense of time. =os

People constantly amaze me. And I've mentioned this before, I know, but it's something I'll probably be commenting on now and then as long as I keep a journal. It amazes me how people react to me. Some, like several kids in high school that I graduated with, couldn't bear to be near me and probably preferred a dentist's visit to helping me. Even online, when they discover I'm disabled, it's adios muchacha for me--they blip off in search of more "normal" beings. But then, there are complete strangers, like two or three, even four girls, in my classes this semester that don't seem to notice the chair. Just the person...me.

"Hi, I'm Courtney. What's your name?" (Wednesday.)

"Hi, I'm Jennifer. What's your name?" (Today.)

"I'm Shiloh." A shy smile.

I was so afraid my speech wouldn't be easily understood, but they had no trouble understanding me, and were thankfully, friendly. They'll be a joy to befriend over the semester. The wheelchair, the speech, did not faze them; they acted like I hope most people will treat me: just another "Jane" worth getting to know, going about getting an education--an expensive one to boot. *winks*

And to end...the weather in southeast Idaho, I've begun to note, makes cities close to each other seem like foreign countries almost. Today, driving into I.F. was like suddenly being enfolded in gauzy white once you hit the Jefferson/Bonneville county line. The fog was so thick everything was white, even the sky. I.F. reminded me of the enchanted world from a short story I recently read. I've never really seen a world this white before, many of the fogs I've seen have been gray and dismal. This one, dare I say it? was a bit magical, almost eerie. I could barely see the building across the parking lot in front of the CHE. But once we hit that county line it was suddenly clear, blue skies and everything. It was as if the fog had a definite end like a line and that boundary was it. Rexburg, as I said, was clear and blue skies were above.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I wiped away the weeds and foam,
I fetched my sea-born treasures home;
But the poor, unsightly, noisome things
Had left their beauty on the shore,
With the sun and the sand and the wild uproar.
~Ralph Waldo Emerson~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE