Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
I'm a Gryffindor
10-27-2003 E 12:40 p.m.
How funny things can be. Reading the Harry Potter series I'd always thought if I'd been a character, a student enrolled in Hogwarts, I'd be in Ravenclaw (that's why I have a picture of its crest on my rings page), but I've taken two different quizes and each time I've been "sorted" into:
I'm in Gryffindor!
be sorted @ nimbo.net

I never thought I was Gryffindor material. But apparently I have what it takes inside me...somewhere. So, surprisedly and somewhat happily, I accept my grand destiny. I also found--quite by accident when looking for Harry Potter pics--the official website for Harry Potter. It's all in fun and appealed to my inner kid. You can actually almost feel like you're a Hogwarts student. If you want you can enroll and be "sorted", you can "choose" (make) your magical pet, you can "go" to Ollivander's Wand Shop and "get" your wand--mine has a Unicorn Hair, is Mahogany and eight inches (I love unicorns so I was yay!)--and there are numerous other "classes" or activities you can do. There's herbology, where you can repot a mandrake and care for it through maturity, and there's an activity to see whether you are a chaser or seeker in Quidditch. Anyways, it's for the kid at heart.
**********
Ever have something (no matter how small it is and should remain that way) that you just can't let go of...until you're good and ready to? I'm sure we all have, in fact, I know we all have. We're human.

This weekend Jon asked several of us to proofread his senior research paper. Since I have been taught in Journalism he especially wanted me to do it. I agreed and last night he finally gave it to us, along with a grading sheet. I read it and Mom and Kami read it. They gave him a low A grade. I was the harshest, according to Mom. I gave him an 81, based on all the different things we needed to out for, such as mechanics, grammar, etc. In all fairness he wrote well enough and had a really topic and proceeded to make his well enough. However, and he knows this is no reflection on him or his writing capabilities, I felt like I was wading through a marsh trying to get to the point and qouted documentation of each paragraph. She (the teacher) wants long paragraphs, and Jon just gave her what she wants. So the fault does not lie with him--overly much.

But still I got flack for my grading of his paper. "Poor Jon," Mom said. "He should be graded on a high school level; he's not in college," Dad said.

Jon isn't bothered by it; Mom's let it go, so why can't I? I was hurt by some of her other comments so maybe I just want to hold on a while longer? I dunno. It is a small thing and should not matter, but it does.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE