Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Alchera Project: Grab Bag
05-01-2005 E 4:17 p.m.
Happy May Day all.

Since P-O-Y is still more-or-less defunct, despite the hopes of many that its "short" hiatus might end someday soon, I've come across a similar writing site, one that offers topics or options in a like manner. I came across it purusing a list of memes and it just struck my fancy, so I applied for membership. We'll see if I'm accepted soon enough, I imagine.

The option I chose is number seven: The Grab Bag. I dunno exactly what she has in mind for this, whether it's an "I say, you think..." thing or if it's like Lulu's Lines, where we wrote the first thing that came to our minds about the current trigger or line. So...I'll just do it as an "I say, you think..." exercise.

  • Headline: Strange Decline In Population Among Rookery of Penguins

  • Wedding: Fairy Tale; crash and burn; crashing

  • Frantic: In a rush; panicking

  • Subdued: Quiet; somber; taken down
    ~~~~~
    I find my response to Wedding interesting. I don't know 'bout you guys, if you're surprised by it or not, but I sure was. Oh, I expected the "fairy tale" part, but--"crash and burn?" "Crashing?" Yes...a very unusual response from a hopeful romantic such as me. Someone I know might say I'm turning cynical because I have no boyfriend or any prospects in sight. In fact, I once was told I needed a boyfriend because, I'm guessing, I didn't show the proper appreciation for all the mushy, gushy stuff being shared with me. Um, to each their own, I've always said, and a boyfriend (or a girlfriend) isn't always the end-all, solve-all answer.

    After I pictured the fairy tale a lot of brides go for at their weddings, I pictured a wedding going down the tubes, crashing and burning by the day's end. Wouldn't it be something if that did happen? It wouldn't be good, but it'd be something. The bride and groom going through the ceremony, both saying "I do," and then one or the other being found in the arms of another person of the opposite sex later on that evening. Or one or the other saying, "This was a big mistake. I want an annulment."

    I've seen good marriages; and I've seen less than desirable ones and seemingly good ones that have ended in divorce. I don't know of any lil girl who doesn't dream of her wedding day when she grows up. For a lot it is the fairy tale wedding, with their idear of a "princess" dress. They'll walk down the aisle on their father's arm, all the while gazing rapturously into their love's eyes. Then, standing together with their beloved, they'll listen to the priest's admonitions and advice and then happily repeat their vows before God, the priest and their witnesses (family and friends). And afterwards, at the reception, they'll party and have fun, saving at least one dance for their daddy. Then it's off on the magical honeymoon they'll go, wherever that might be. Perhaps Jamaica, or Bermuda or even the Grand Canyon.

    I myself have dreamt of my wedding since I was eight or nine-years-old. I dreamed of growing up, finding my love and having a sweet lil ceremony. I've even drawn my dress and the engagement/wedding ring that would be so cool to have if it existed. I've chosen and changed the colors for the wedding several times. Currently, they are royal (or pansy) purple and white, with gold accents. The cake topper I would love to have is a clear statuette or figurine of the temple we get married in.

    I still dream, though not as often. The dream is slowly fading from my reality. Sure, if I got out more I might find somebody, but that still is no guarantee. Is it? I'm sure I'd find a guy or two, but whether they'd be the right kind of guy is questionable. There seems to be no end to the type of guys who'll show interest in you no matter what because they're after one thing. Sex. You can be a Plain Jane, and they'll still want you and try to get you under the covers. The good ones, however, are scarce anymore. They're either taken, caught up in other things or they just aren't interested in ya.

    I've discovered though, recently, I'm not much one for dating. I've never been comfortable with it; hanging out, on the other hand, I can do with ease and joy. Now, if I just had a guy friend... *soft smile*

    I'm not sure what precipitated the "crashing" part of my response. Perhaps there is some cynicism in me about weddings...or *thinks a moment* perhaps I've seen and heard enough to be picky. I know what I want and what I don't want. I refuse to settle for "Mr. Right Now, Mr. Let's Have a Little Fun" or "Mr. Maybe He's the One." It's highly possible and more than probable that I won't be getting married in this life. But that's ok. There are worse things than being single in this life, like being in an abusive marriage or an unhappy one. I'd rather wait and get it right the first time 'round.


    True friendship is like sound health; the value of it is seldom known until it be lost.
    ~Charles Caleb Colton~

    ..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

    Recently Recorded...
    06-17-2006 E Good Bye
    06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
    06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
    06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
    06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

    moon phase



    FBorFW.com

    100 Books Club
  • ArchivedE
    WrittenE
    TranscribingE
    An Angel's ProfileE
    DisclaimerE
    Who's WhoE
    Extra ScrollsE
    DiarylandE
    Live C.P.E
    Email From HeavenE
    Angel NotesE
    My GuestbookE
    Fairy TalesE
    Voice On DisabilitiesE
    My Alluvial MineE
    The Silk RoadE
    The Faraway TreeE
    Viewing ChildhoodE
    I Wonder WhyE
    Essays On LoveE