Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
The Governor's Dream
12-09-2005 E 3:42 p.m.
Feeling-- restless
Reading-- After Midnight by Teresa Medeiros
Listening to-- nothing
The Governor's Dream
Judea lies heavy under the foot of Rome
Was ever a governor as troubled as I
I, Quirinius, governor of the Jews
These troublesome people
And now, I dream
I dream...

I dream a star lights the way
(O holy, O holy)
Voices sing, voices pray
(O holy, O holy)
Rise up, for he is come
Rise up, rise up, for he is come
(For he is come)
Who sings? Who sings?
Who shouts? Who shouts?
Who prays?
Come out! Come out, come out, I say!

Ah...
Ah...I dream
I but dream...

I see a stable, nearly dark
(O holy, O holy)
An infant sleeps, the watchdogs bark
(O holy, O holy)
Rise up, for he is come
Rise up, rise up, for he is come
(For he is come)
Who sings? Who sings?
Who shouts? Who shouts?
Who prays?
Come out! Come out, come out, I say!

Ah...I dream
I but dream...

But this cannot be Rome
(O holy, O holy)
The Forum's gone, the flesh and bone
(O holy, O holy)
And what is this within my sight
A temple holy filled with light
A dome across a ringing bell
I hear a million voices swell
And they sing
And they sing:

(O holy, O holy
He is come, he is come
O holy, O holy
Rise up, rise up
For he is come, for he is come...)

Who prays? Who sings?
Who shouts? Who prays?
Come out! Come out, come out, I say!
Who sings? Who shouts?
Who shouts? Who prays?
Come out! Come out, I say!
Who sings? Who shouts?...

(O holy, O holy
He is come, he is come
O holy, O holy
Rise up, rise up
For he is come, for he is come...)

Roger Whittaker

We have a tradition in our family regarding Roger Whittaker's Christmas album. *smiles fondly* At the first snowfall we play his tape, now CD. And as we decorate for Christmas, we listen to him, among other Christmas albums. We kids grew up with Roger; it wouldn't be a complete Christmas without him. He sings of the old-time Country Christmases, which evoke images of warm and cozy times with family, images of magic and love and lil kids excited and impatient for the day to come.

The above song is one of my favorites from his Christmas album. If I could provide the music and his voice to go with the words, I would. Then perhaps you could understand and feel the power this song has, which would, in turn, give you a glimpse of the magic his voice and this particular album possess. In fact, I highly recommend getting an album of his, just so you can experience his allure, hisz talent.

I had another song from his album, Christmas, in mind for today's countdown offering. Darcy the Dragon, my absolute favorite. But apparently Mr. Whittaker has chosen not to release the lyrics to the public, so I must respect that.

I have another, greater and more cherished memory involving Roger and his Christmas album. One year, when I was at Ricks, he gave a Christmas concert! I was able to get three tickets for his concert cheap with my Student ID/Activity card! It was my anniversary gift to Mom and Dad--their 23rd anniversary is tomorrow--that year, and it was the best gift I could have given. The concert was AWESOME! We were hearing our favorite Christmas album live and in person. Nothing can or has beaten that experience. He even had slides to go along with the ballad sharing Darcy the Dragon's plight at Christmastime. We were in Heaven.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE