Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
From a Distance
12-19-2004 E 2:52 p.m.
This entry was supposed to be yesterday's, but I was tired and lamebrained, so you get two entries today.

*shivers* And the ice block is still melting. Hot chocolate stirred with a peppermint cane is really sounding good.

The past couple of days I've been listening to my one and only Bette Midler CD. It has some of my faves on there, like The Rose. (Which is why I bought the CD.) Also on there is her song From a Distance.

From a distance
The world looks blue and green,
And the snow-capped mountains white.
From a distance
The ocean meets the stream,
And the eagle takes to flight.

From a distance, there is harmony,
And it echoes through the land.
It's the voice of hope,
It's the voice of peace,
It's the voice of every man.

From a distance
We all have enough,
And no one is in need.
And there are no guns,
No bombs, and no disease,
No hungry mouths to feed.

As I listened to this song Friday I went still. I love it, so I've heard it many, many times before, but this time was different. This time, I have a brother and friend in the Armed Forces. These are people I know, people I care about, putting their lives on the line for something they, we and our president believe in. Michael is being shipped out to Iraq very soon. In fact, they want to do it before Christmas. He will be over there for a year to two years if orders stay the same. He's missing Jen's pregnancy with their first child--although that might be a blessing with her being off her anti-depressants--and the child will be at least six-months-old when he sees her/him.

I will never look at or hear this song the same way again. It's beautiful, and the "Who's Who" of music don't know what they're talking when they say From a Distance is an awesomely bad song! It isn't! Plain and simple. I love the message it conveys. I love the imagery it inspires.

From a distance
We are instruments,
Marching in a common band.
Playing songs of hope,
Playing songs of peace.
They're the songs of every man.
God is watching us. God is watching us.
God is watching us
From a distance.

From a distance
You look like my friend,
Even though we are at war.
From a distance
I just cannot comprehend
What all this fighting is for.

From a distance, we are safe in our lil corner of the world. It is hard to comprehend and feel the impact of something going on in another country--unless, somehow, you're connected to it. We are all human beings, God's children, and He is watching us. From a distance, we are the same. We have the same basic needs, wants and desires and have the potential to be friends. From a distance, everything is ok in our lil world. Ideally, there is no need, no weapons, no disease, nor hunger. Only harmony through the land.

From a distance, there is harmony,
And it echoes through the land.
And it's the hope of hopes,
It's the love of loves,
It's the heart of every man.

It's the hope of hopes,
It's the love of loves.
This is the song of every man.
And God is watching us,
God is watching us,
God is watching us
From a distance.
Oh, God is watching us, God is watching.
God is watching us
From a distance.

This song, for me, has become a...personal symbol for what is happening in Iraq. A reminder of what my brother is doing, of the cause he and other soldiers are fighting and dying for. Listening to this song now, I get emotional, because it holds real meaning for me. I can see clearly a world of blue and green in my mind's eye. Snow-capped white mountains. And the (bald) eagle taking to flight. I see a world at peace, of beauty, in harmony. I see people in unison, working, loving, laughing and living...happy with and respectful of each other. But underlying that is the all too real and sober reality of war. Of weapons and disease, of hatred and greed. Of need and starvation. I've cried, listening to this song, wondering, Why can't our countries (every country) get along? Why must there be hate?

Why must there?


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE