Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
A Sonnet For the Sea
08-30-2004 E 3:58 p.m.
I'm a curious sort. I love water, but cannot swim, at least not on my own. I love the ocean, but cannot abide the smell of fish or seafood. I will not eat at any seafood places, I'm sorry. I'd love living next to the ocean though, watching the deep blue waves rise and roll in to crash along the shore, mingling with the white seafoam. Or watch the fat, golden harvest moon rise above the dark water, admiring its ripling reflection. And let's not forget the majesty of an ocean's rage in the midst of a tempest! I love the fresh, salty sea air and collecting seashells. I love dolphins and whales, and if I could scuba dive I would. Marine biology also interests me. And, as a kid I longed to be a mermaid, with a beautiful, long tail.

The ocean also inspired the Bard. I think it inspires most everybody with a creative bone in their body. Today's sonnet, which I got from my Sonnet-a-day, is in the words of a sailor or captain, expressing his love for his mistress, the sea... Or of a poet comparing his mistress' love or traits to that of the sea, but I think it's the former, really.

O, how I faint when I of you do write,
Knowing a better spirit doth use your name,
And in the praise thereof spends all his might,
To make me tongue-tied, speaking of your fame!
But since your worth, wide as the ocean is,
The humble as the proudest sail doth bear,
My saucy bark inferior far to his
On your broad main doth wilfully appear.
Your shallowest help will hold me up afloat,
Whilst he upon your soundless deep doth ride;
Or being wreck'd, I am a worthless boat,
He of tall building and of goodly pride:
Then if he thrive and I be cast away,
The worst was this; my love was my decay.

~Sonnet LXXX, William Shakespeare~

There's just something about Shakespeare you gotta love. Give me a man who appreciates the Bard any day!


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE