Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
I'm Glad There Is Hope
11-08-2005 E 5:29 p.m.
Feeling-- a lil chilly
Reading-- nothing...yet
I'm grateful for-- who I am

Second entry...

hope
1) A wish or desire accompanied by confident expectation of its fulfillment.

2) Something that is hoped for or desired: Success is our hope.

3) One that is a source of or reason for hope: the team's only hope for victory.

4) often Hope Christianity. The theological virtue defined as the desire and search for a future good, difficult but not impossible to attain with God's help.

5) Archaic. Trust; confidence.

What would I do without hope? What would any of us do without it? What if there never was any hope in the world at all? What if it suddenly disappeared, never to be found or to be had again?

What would we do? What would I do?

Would we never know it was gone until we tried reaching for it? Would we shrug our shoulders and say, "Oh well. One less silly virtue in the world to think about." Would we mourn its passing? Would we wonder, at all, where hope had gone and why? Would we go about our days, moving and thinking like automatons when hope failed to come? Would we sink into a gray existence, buckling and crumpling under the weight of depression and despair until we were a useless mass of misery with only one thought: I want to die.

I know without a doubt, without hope I would soon fall into frustration, which would lead into despair then depression and hopelessness. I would then turn into an apathetic automaton or a miserable lost soul who dies because there is no hope to make life worth living. I am glad there is hope. There is always hope, in one form or another. I am glad I am an optimist, who almost always sees hope, who has an inner sunshine that cannot be hidden for very long. Even in my darkest hours, I'm often comforted by the thought or possibility of hope.

I have to say I am glad I'm not one who suffers from depression. I had a bout with it six years ago after Stephen left the picture the first time. I don't know how anyone deals with it who suffers from it constantly. I know several people, who're what I call depressive, and they struggle with it daily or periodically. But I can't fully comprehend what it's like, even with that nine-month bout, nor do I want to.

When I was depressed, all I wanted was oblivion. I wanted to sleep all day; I didn't want to greet the day and get out of bed. I didn't want to eat; I didn't want to socialize much. I skipped church; I skipped classes. I wanted to stay holed up inside my apartment. I was miserable and wretched. It sucked! I can't imagine that for a lifetime. I'm glad I don't have to. But it's given me empathy for those I know.

I'm glad there is hope.


"The Story Of the Four Candles"
The Four Candles burned slowly. Their ambiance was so soft you could hear them speak...

The first candle said, "I am Peace, but these days, nobody wants to keep me lit."

Then Peace's flame slowly diminished and went out completely.

The second candle said, "I am Faith, but these days, I am no longer indispensable."

Then Faith's flame slowly diminished and went out completely.

Sadly the third candle spoke, "I am Love, and I haven't the strength to stay lit any longer. People put me aside and don't understand my importance. They even forget to love those who are nearest to them."

And waiting no longer, Love went out completely.

Suddenly...

A child entered the room and saw the three candles no longer burning. The child began to cry.

"Why are you not burning? You are supposed to stay lit until the end."

Then the Fourth Candle spoke gently to the little boy, "Don't be afraid, for I Am Hope, and while I still burn, we can re-light the other candles."

With shining eyes, the child took the Candle of Hope and lit the other three candles.

Never let the Flame of Hope go out.

With Hope in your life, no matter how bad things may be, Peace, Faith and Love may shine brightly once again.

~~ Author Unknown ~~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE