Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
"The Eye of God"
11-19-2005 E 4:02 p.m.
Feeling-- melancholy
Reading-- Decoy by Jasmine Cresswell
I'm grateful for-- sunshine

This picture was an email from Gwen sometime (a few months) ago... Second entry, btw.


May 10, 2003-- The incredible phenomenon known as the "Eye of God" is actually the Helix Nebula, the result of a dying Sun-like star some 650 light-years away from Earth. Pointed at the Earth, the nebula is a trillion mile-long tunnel of glowing gases. Our Sun itself might look like this in a billion or so years. The photograph, because the nebula is so near and therefore a quarter the size of our full moon, is a composite taken by the Hubble telescope in Arizona. The picture has been tinted to look like a human eye; the nebula's gases are actually green, red and blue.

I know it's two and a half years later, but, having an interest in astronomy and just discovering this, I wanted to add it here. It's a beautiful photograph and an amazing phenomenon. It's been said one can see the "Eye of God" every 3,000 years, but other scientists dispute this claim, saying it can be viewed anytime. (I wish I'd known about it then.)

Like other awe-inspiring phenomena, early man developed legends about the "Eye..." to explain its presence, meaning or purpose. Ancient Egyptians believed mankind would be punished by the Eye of Atun-Ra (the Creator). A variation on this belief or myth had the destructive celestial Eye belonging to the god Horus. In Medieval times, a manuscript written in an obscure, unknown language (the Voynich Manuscript) referred to a cyclical cataclysm on Earth brought about by a celestial "eye" or galactic core explosion. Natural disasters were considered warnings and signs of its coming.

I guess this could be called The End of the World. *odd laugh*

I warned you all and gave signs...

We have had several natural disasters in the last few years, increasingly so. They'll continue in frequency, I believe, perhaps becoming worse with each one. The Bible gives several signs before Christ's Second Coming, and we are seeing some now. The natural catastrophies, wars and rumors of them...

It'll be interesting to see if we do see another "Eye" in the sky before He comes again. Kinda scary and neat to think about.

Eye In the Sky... Huh--*revelation; light bulb goes on above her head*--I just realized a new meaning to one of my favorite 80s songs! I dunno if the band meant the song this way or not, but this new light on the lyrics sure fits, and I can relate to them now! Yay!

Eye In the Sky
Don't think sorry's easily said
Don't try turning tables instead
You've taken lots of chances before
But I ain't gonna give anymore
Don't ask me
That's how it goes
Cause part of me knows
What you're thinkin'
Don't say words you're gonna regret
Don't let the fire rush to your head
I've heard the accusation before
And I ain't gonna take anymore
Believe me the sun in your eyes
Made some of the lies worth believing

I am the Eye in the Sky
Looking at you
I can read your mind
I am the maker of rules
Dealing with fools
I can cheat you blind
And I don't need to see anymore
To know that I can read your mind
I can read your mind

Don't leave false illusions behind
Don't cry cause I ain't changing my mind
So find another fool like before
Cause I ain't gonna live anymore believing
Some of the lies
While all of the signs are deceiving
I am the Eye in the Sky...

Alan Parsons Project
This is such a cool song! I thought at first it was about a relationship ending, and it still could be, but in light of my discovering the "Eye of God" and its meaning, this song has a whole new added dimension for me. It's worth posting it twice in my journal, and it's more of a favorite now.

..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE