Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
A Rare Event: Me Venting About Dland
04-04-2005 E 12:05 p.m.
This is the worst server breakdown Diaryland's had, I think, ever. A lot is up and working, but a lot is still messed up.
  1. I cannot have the mood images I once put up in the %%option_1%% field. (No big loss, I know, but it is an annoyance for me.)
  2. Up until I emptied my cookies cache, my archives from 2001-02 were messed up on the site. They were fine in the log in the Member's Area of Dland, but many entries from those early archives were inaccessible on my site here. And this problems leads to two sub-problems:
       a) When one tries to edit an entry from those two years, the changes go in the main log, but they won't show up even though one tries refreshing the browser. Numerous times.
       b) Emptying my cookies was a mistake in one respect. Soul Food Café uses Blogger.com for community blogs, and my password to that site disappeared like a smoke haze in a strong wind. *rolls eyes* I can't remember the flippin' password either. I've tried every conceivable password I've used in the recent past and none have been accepted. This is only after I tried--without any success--requesting the password four times from Blogger.com. Still haven't gotten any of them. And, yes, I checked my Bulk Mail folder. Not there, either. And I'm not the only one Blogger's done this to; their advice is to give up on the old and start a new one.
  3. The rest of my image files have yet to show up.
  4. I noticed yesterday the old Profile page is kinda interfaced with the new. It, I don't think, is showing the correct tally of entries either. And at the bottom it shows an old link to the Member of the Month. Andrew hasn't used or updated this feature since 2001!
I just wish Andrew would update to let us know what progress, if any, is being made! I realize he's a busy man and it's A LOT of work keeping a site as big as Diaryland is running smoothly. But when hitches and glitches on a site like this are still very much evident two weeks after the breakdown, users are entitled to know when and what progress is being made.

I really like Diaryland, I do--usually. I like how you can control the look of the template, I like the %%option%% fields--when they work--and I like the community. I've made some good friends here. I've also invested time, energy and emotion into this place. I really don't want to abandon all I've put in these last three and half years. Especially in the last few months. I will be patient awhile longer, but I'm getting quite frustrated the longer it takes. And I know I ain't the only one.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE