Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
A Most Disturbing Sense of Dej� V�
05-29-2004 E 10:04 p.m.
I know it's late, but perhaps I can sneak in a short entry before I'm asked to relinguish the family computer. *sighs* Yes, my computer is still a non-working one, and I doubt I'll get it back in working order before the 8th (Aubree's birthday). But that's the way life goes sometimes. As a writer without her favorite implement of choice, in the past few weeks I sometimes have felt more restricted or handicapped than I normally do with the real disability I have. *shrugs* Ah well. When something is lost, adapt. Brave words when things are easier said than done.
***********
Something else, besides my prolonged lack of a personal computer, has been disturbing me lately.

Has anyone seen the previews for The Steppford Wives yet? Though Jessy tells me it's a new movie--and on some level I believe her--I swear Nicole Kidman had already made that movie some years ago. So imagine my sense of deep dej� v� and feeling of great surprise when I first saw the previews.

Yes, I'm tired. Yes, I've been out of the loop as far as movies, time and social activities go. But I swear, once again, that this movie has already been made--with the same cast. And with that dej� v�, comes a "long-had" impression that it's a weird show, an impression I did not gain from watching the trailers recently aired on tv. I just knew, or remembered, when I first saw them in the last week or so that it had sounded weird when I'd first heard about the movie.

Jessy also said that there is a movie already made called, The Steppford Husbands, and perhaps I've confused that with this new movie coming out. But I've never even heard of The Steppford Husbands before! Therefore, I couldn't have mixed up the two movies. But the sense of dej� v� remains and comes back harder than ever each time I see a preview.

Just call me crazy. I even looked up Kidman's filmography in hopes that it would help me put this biggest sense of dej� v� I've had in a long time to rest. Unfortunately, it didn't happen. The Steppford Wives is a 2004 film all right. *frowns* My sense of dej� v� will remain unanswered.

But it drives me nuts that I seemed to know about it or had an impression of the movie's weirdness some years before it was even conceived as a film! How did I know of it?! How did I know how Nicole Kidman would look in her character's role, or that Nicole Kidman even stars in it? There're no logical answers to my questions, but I do/did(?) know how she looks in the show, that she plays the main character. I knew these facts before I saw the previews.

I don't think I like dej� v� anymore.

(updated 06-05-04)
Hmm, looks like I beat P-O-Y to a topic this week. Lucky me to have had a subconscious psychic streak this week. P-O-Y's prompt is simply this: What is dej� v�? Have you experienced it before?

I think my above experience speaks for itself and answers these questions.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE