Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Darren
02-23-2002 E 11:34 p.m.
I'm supposed to mark today as the day my new Canadian friend, Darren and I became best friends officially. I've mentioned him off and on. Up until today I had no intention of telling him about my C.P. It was strictly going to be a typical Internet friendship, where you're both anonymous to a point, and while you both enjoy the chatting it never goes any further than that. Well, it went a bit further today.

He told me I was special and cool. I made the comment that if I were so special I'd have had guys all around me.

"You just haven't opened up like you have to me," he said.

This brought a self-deprecating mental smile to my mind. He thought I'd been open? I must say he is awesome if a bit...suggestive at times, but all in good fun. We haven't had very many deep conversations, but the two or three we've had we've connected for that short amount of time.

"I've had one boyfriend. There was another who almost was the second. But he couldn't deal with something about me." I replied honestly.

"You have extra toes," Darren joked.

"No."

"You are missing some." he amended.

"No, I have all my parts."

He started his third guess. And I could see where this was going to lead. He hates a continuous tease, and I had no desire to make him think I was teasing him on purpose.

"Look, Darren, I don't want you to think I'm teasing. It's just I don't like telling why. I've told guys before and they ran away. Evan ran away eleven times."

He got serious. "If you don't wanna tell me I respect that," he said.

Garnering my courage I blurted out at thee same time, "I'm in a wheelchair."

He was surprised, but on the whole seemed to take it pretty well. He asked the usual questions of course. Do you have any feeling? Do you have control of your muscles? Are you on your own or do you have help? How long have you been like this?

I don't know, but my confession seems to have brought the friendship up a level. To that of best friends. Now, Darren's a good guy and I'm not saying his heart isn't in the right place; I'm just a wee bit leery of his reaction. And with good reason. Too many guys have said my disability doesn't matter, but within days they were nowhere around. Contact had been terminated. Evan was a nice guy and even he was so narrow-minded he ran away, telling me with his actions our friendship wasn't worth keeping.

I had a nice time with Darren today. He was very kind and made me feel like a worthwhile person. I feel good about telling him, however I'm a lil uncertain and am waiting for his actions to reveal the truth. I hope his attitude doesn't change. It'd be nice to have another best friend of the male persuasion.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE