Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Listening To the Lyrics
04-06-2004 E 3:53 p.m.
Ok, my browser's working just fine today--with the exception of my computer freezing up every so often. *knocks on wood* But that I can deal with. I'd rather have a frozen computer than a browser that keeps making errors. 'Course, I'd rather not have any browser errors or frozen computers. Or for that matter, a layout that has a mind of its own. =os

Have you ever really liked a song, more for the music than for the lyrics? The music moves you so, that you're so caught up in it you only half listen to the lyrics. Well, I've two or three songs, maybe more, like that. And I know Aubree has, too. There was a Spice Girls song she was playing either on the radio or on a CD a couple weeks ago. I guess Mom came into the room and after hearing a few of the lyrics, vetoed the song's playing. 'Course, this was after some comment Kami made about the song.

And Aubree being the strong-willed individual she is, (thinking her opinion is the only one that matters sometimes,) put up an argument, saying the song wasn't bad. The words to the chorus are lurking about at the edges of my brain, but are refusing to come into clear focus. It's a popular song still today and I hadn't thought anything of the lyrics because it was one song I didn't pay much attention to.

Becky, her friend, asked me what I thought of the song while the argument continued upstairs. Apparently she hadn't paid much attention to the song either.

I had to be honest, I told her I hadn't listened to the lyrics really because it's not a song I listen to. But I remembered another Spice Girls song, When Two Become One, that I loved, but had only half listened to. I'd bought the single when it first came out and listened to it often. Then one day I got to really listening to the lyrics. (This shows just how naive I was back then.) Of course, for anyone who's listened to the song really, you know they're singing about the exact moment "when two become one." Not exactly what I'd thought--the feelings of love and passion. Needless to say when the realization hit my cheeks were burning in a fierce blush. I haven't listened to the song since, I don't think.

And today, on a whim, I decided to look up an old classic from the 60s or 70s that I like to post here--Crimson and Clover.

Crimson and Clover
Now I don't hardly know her
But I think I could love her
Crimson and clover

Ah
Well if she come walkin' over
Now I been waitin' to show her
Crimson and clover
Over and over

Yeah
My mind's such a sweet thing
I wanna do everything
What a beautiful feeling
Crimson and clover
Over and over

Crimson and clover, over and over (repeat to fade)

Tommy James and the Shondells

I like this song, of course, for the music and the synthesizer(?) that is used. And before today, for the image it evoked...crimson silk and a field of clover. Don't ask me why I consider that a vivid, passionate image or what crimson silk and a field of clover have to do with one another, 'cause I couldn't tell ya or begin to explain.

Now that I know the words? Well, since I'm not as naive as I was when Jessy, my stepsister, made a copy of this song for me years ago, I definitely won't look at this song the same way again. It's still sweet and romantic, but I see lust entering it more than just love. Oh, he thinks he could love her, sure, but most times attraction starts with lust. Or lust enters it in the early stages of attraction. Still, it's a sweet song.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE