Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
I Am a Wheeling Contradiction
02-11-2004 E 5:43 p.m.
Before I can submit my site to any design listings I must have 10 or more layouts up. Right now I have six, with two pending, that are up. I have one of the pending ones nearly done and will put it up this weekend. Then I really need to work on getting the skinnable one ready and up.

The one that is nearly done is another reflection of my personality. Those who know me will agree instantly when they see the layout that it's pure me. I hate to give anything 'bout it away, but its theme is the cause for this entry. So, I'm in a bit of a dilemma here...but I will sacrifice and give the theme away anyway. Once Upon a Time...

Yes, that most famous and clichéd opening line of many a fairy tale. And anyone who's read this journal long enough will know I absolutely love fairy tales. So...the layout got me in the mood to bring out my compilation of fairy tales and to read a few last night. When I do I go through the Table of Contents and pick whichever one's title strikes me. Thus, that's the way it went last night.

And I discovered I'm a driving (or rolling) contradiction. Read the same fairy tale from India as I did and I'll explain after my discovery.

How Sun, Moon and Wind Went Out to Dinner
One day Sun, Moon, and Wind went out to dine with their uncle and aunt, Thunder and Lightning. Their mother (one of the most distant Stars you see far up in the sky) waited alone for her children's return.

Now both Sun and Wind were greedy and selfish. They enjoyed the great feast that had been prepared for them, without a thought of saving any of it to take home to their mother--but the gentle Moon did not forget her. Of every dainty dish that was brought round, she placed a small portion under one of her beautiful long fingernails, that Star might also have a share in the treat.

On their return their mother, who had kept watch for them all night long with her little bright eye, said, "Well, children, what have you brought home for me?"

Then Sun (who was eldest) said, "I have brought nothing home for you. I went out to enjoy myself with my friends--not to fetch a dinner for my mother!"

And Wind said, "Neither have I brought anything home for you, Mother. You could hardly expect me to bring a collection of good things for you, when I merely went out for my own pleasure."

But Moon said, "Mother, fetch a plate, see what I have brought you." And shaking her hands she showered down such a choice dinner as never was seen before.

Then Star turned to Sun and spoke thusly, "Because you went out to amuse yourself with your friends, and feasted and enjoyed yourself, without any thought of your mother at home--you shall be cursed. Henceforth, your rays shall ever be hot and scorching, and shall burn all that they touch. And men shall hate you, and cover their heads when you appear."

(And that is why the Sun is so hot to this day.)

Then she turned to Wind and said, "You also who forgot your mother in the midst of your selfish pleasures--hear your doom. You shall always blow in the hot dry weather, and shall parch and shrivel all living things. And men shall detest and avoid you from this very time."

(And that is why the Wind in the hot weather is still so disagreeable.)

But to Moon she said, "Daughter, because you remembered your mother, and kept for her a share in your own enjoyment, from henceforth, you shall be ever cool, and calm, and bright. No noxious glare shall accompany your pure rays, and men shall always call you 'blessed.'"

(And that is why the Moon's light is so soft, and cool, and beautiful even to this day.)

(Found at Sacred Texts.com.)

Being born under the Sign of Cancer, I am both a Moon child and a Summer baby. Summer, the season when the sun is its hottest and brightest. The sun, for more pleasant reasons, is my chosen totem. It's warm and bright and cheery, and tests have shown it helps people's depression. Its glory is a blaze, which is like me. My emotions can either be really high...or really low. Yet like the moon's calmer glory, I can be on an even keel, being the voice of reason for friends when all else is insanity. I am both Night--and Day. I am Contradiction.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE