Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
"A Knight's Guide to Chivalry"
03-30-2003 E 8:48 p.m.
Boy howdy, I sure didn't expect to get on and update today. No, I expected I'd still be typing away at a stupid paper that'd be leaping readily to the page as easily as extracting firmly rooted teeth from your own mouth. (That's about how easily most of my response papers have gone. Not fun huh?) But no, surprisingly, though I suspect divine inspiration was at work here, an idea formed in my head as I lay in bed and by 11, 11:30 this morning I had my intro well in hand and the creativity in me just took over. By 6:30 I was done, with plenty of room to spare for a last careful editing before printing. And Heather, my printer worked! It's amazing I completed it early--though I started reading the poem on Wednesday I kinda slacked in reading it so I ended up reading the bulk of it Friday, Saturday and early into this morning, finishing it about one. Plus, I went bowling with Heather and her fam last night (which I'll talk about later: see below).

I don't know what I've done to deserve this, but He was helping me out today and I'm so grateful. I only hope she (the prof.) likes it as much as my mom did. Though I have more to say I'll save it for tomorrow and just let you enjoy the guide I've put together:

A Knight's Guide to Chivalry

So you're a squire wanting to be a knight? Good! Knighthood is a most noble and honorable state to achieve in one's lifetime. However, if you only want to become a knight just for the battles, glory or fame then you'd best choose another profession. Knighthood isn't just about going into battle or jousting in tournaments or even earning glory and renown or winning the heart of a fair lady. It's a way of life, with its own code of honor: chivalry. I will now explain to you four points of honor a knight must always live by, lest he dishonor himself, his lady and his king. Hopefully by the end, I will have helped you come to a better understanding of what it means to be a knight. They are: 1) piety and allegiance to God; 2) showing respect for those higher in station than you and for your host/guest; 3) honoring and keeping any oaths made and 4) showing no cowardice, weakness or greed.

Jousting and other combative exercises are necessary to keep your fighting skills honed and ready for actual battle, I must admit, but a knight foremost is always a pious man. He looks to God, constantly praying to Him and commending others to Him. Take Sir Gawain the Good, for example, in Burton Raffel's edition of Sir Gawain and the Green Knight. He prays many times to his Lord and Master, but his prayer in lines 753 to 758 reveals just how important his religion is to him: "Oh Lord, /Oh Mary, gentlest Mother and dear, /I beg you to send me some lodging, to let me /Hear mass before morning; I ask meekly, /And in proof pray swiftly my pater, my ave, /My creed" (p. 72).

As seen in these lines, Gawain very much wants to find lodging soon so that he can attend Christmas mass and honor Christ at His birth. He rejoices in and acknowledges Him as his Lord, and Gawain honors his fellow men by commending them to God, as he does with the lord who takes him in. “And Gawain replied: "'Thank you. May Christ /Reward you.' And like brothers they /kissed /And embraced and were glad" (p. 74, lines 838-842). This is the first step, I believe, to becoming a knight. For without God a man is a lawless creature and no great being.

Next, a knight's chivalry dictates that he shows respect to those around him, whether they are higher in station or his host or guest. You must not presume to take leave to do anything you wish; you must ask permission. Once again, let's look at Gawain as an example. The Green Knight has come to Camelot to challenge any of the Knights of the Round Table to a game. Arthur welcomes him, but none of the knights speak up. Arthur then takes up his challenge, prepared to deliver the ax-stroke the green man wants. Feeling it is a sport not fit for the great king, but for a knight instead, Gawain speaks up, "Hear me, /My lord. Let this challenge be mine" (p. 58, 341-342). He continues in lines 343-345 and 358-359: "Release me, /My liege, from this bench, and let me come to you, /Permit me to rise without discourtesy...this foolish business fits my station, /Not yours..." (p. 58). In asking permission, Gawain is acknowledging and respecting Arthur in his royal status, all the while maintaining courtly decorum.

The third point of honor in chivalry is keeping the oaths you've made. This is important, for the reputation of a knight hinges on the worth of his very word. If a man lies who can trust him? No one, and in doing so he blackens his name. Part of the glory or renown a knight like Gawain gets, my young squire, is from his honest dealings. True, he was already well loved before he took the green man's challenge, but in keeping his oath in seeking out the green chapel a year later, Gawain has proven his integrity once again. There can be no doubt after this that he is a good and trustworthy man--as a knight should be.

Lastly, where it is important to be trustworthy, it is also important not to show cowardice, weakness or greed. I believe this point is the hardest to live by. We are all human and sometimes are tempted by things that "call" to us. Sometimes we can overcome them and sometimes we fail. Even the great Sir Gawain has a moment or two of weakness and fails. Understandably, his weakness or cowardly moments (in the past) have come when his life was at stake. He beheaded the green man in the first part of the challenge and agreed to accept a stroke for a stroke a year later in the second part of the challenge. Who would want to die willingly? Not I. And neither does Gawain. He gave in to temptation when he accepted the magical belt from his host's wife, who told him whoever wears it couldn't be killed. Had he not given in to this greed for life, he would have met his fate with true bravery, free of greed and cowardice.

In summary, piety and allegiance to your God, respecting your fellow men, keeping your oaths and not giving in to vices such as greed or cowardice are just a few of the basics of chivalry that a knight should know. There are others, such as courtly love, that will be covered in the next edition of "A Knight's Guide to Chivalry," so please be sure to watch for it in the fall. I hope I have helped you to know a little bit more about the noble station of knighthood and have kindled your desire to be a bold and true knight.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE