Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
The Canterville Ghost
07-23-2003 E 12:20 p.m.
Bleg. I shoulda ate something last night; now I'm feeling a lil...iffy. Ah well, time enough for that when I finish here.

Not a whole heck of a lot has happened in my involuntary absence. But there is a short funny sidenote. As one of my presents Mom ordered me a book I was planning on buying this month. However, I figured, why not save the money and put it on my gift list? Let Mom buy it and she did. When she went to pick up The Canterville Ghost, though, she got a surprise. The book is pocket-sized! Well, it could fit in a slightly bigger-sized pocket, and even with illustrations the whole thang is 64 pages long!

Mom said as she watched the lady pull it from the shelf she was shocked at its dinky lil size. That should take Shiloh an hour, she thought.

Well, it took me a bit more than that really, due to distractions. But I finished it in less than a day.

And as always, if I've seen zee movie that it's from I compare the two. There's been two or three movie versions made based off this Oscar Wilde short story, and as I hoped the version I have is the closest to the story. Yay! But it's more interesting to note the differences between my version and the tale because of the closeness in likeness. The movie focuses more on Virginia and her point of view than on the poor ghost's. It's vice versa in the book; the girl is mentioned minorly up until the end when she fulfills the prophesy and frees poor Sir Simon from his eternal unrest. The book more closely follows his trials and harrassment by Virginia's twin brothers. Man, he went through a lot.

I'd recommend the movie I have, with Patrick Stewart as Sir Simon. It is a good ghost story and he plays the character so well, it's hard not to sympathize with him even though he sinned grieveously and was punnished by a gypsy curse to walk the halls until such a time came when a "gentle girl could win prayer from out the lips of sin and the barren almond bears..." It is one of my favorite tales, and if any of you like ghost stories, you'll like this one too.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE