Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
A Brave Face
09-24-2003 E 12:50 p.m.
Season = Autumn
You're Most Like The Season Autumn...

You're warm, and the most approachable. You have
that gentle presence about you. People can
relate to you, and find you easy company.
However it's likely you've been hurt in the
past and it has left you scarred so things can
become rather chilly with you at times. Being
the third Season in, you're mature, trustworthy
and loyal to your friends but prone to
depression and negative thinking.

Well done... You're the shy and sensitive season :)

?? Which Season Are You ??
brought to you by Quizilla

*********
Did you know yesterday was the first day of Fall? And the weather was beautiful for it too. Warm and sunshiny, my mood mirrored it for much of the day. For, the second time in my life (and you'd have been proud of your big sister Warda) I presented a brave face--for me--while they drew blood yesterday. Every six months to a year I need to have a blood test done so they can check to see how the medication I'm on for seizures is affecting my kidneys. My last blood test was done in March of 2002, so I waayyy overdue for another test. =os There was no way of getting out of one this time; I need that new prescription before I can call the pharmacy for a refill. I'm almost out of pills...though I would dearly love to stop taking them. I don't like taking pills, even though for me it's a necessity. The stupid seizures would come upon me willy nilly. I remember one night when I was still at the Poky campus of ISU, but was here at home visiting on a weekend. I had either six or seven seizures in rapid secession as I lay in bed. At that time only two people believed I was having seizures, my friend Evelyn and other friend/care provider, Sam. Everybody else believed I was still having anxiety or panic attacks, but those had stopped in 1994! It was now 1997. Paw Paw had me taking Prozac, but all that did was plateau my emotions.

So Sam, knowing I was miserable and scared, found me a doctor who could help. He ordered tests done, but the results proved inconclusive. All they showed was that I have a normal brain for someone with C.P. But he put me on 250 mg of Valproic Acid anyway for, from my description of the seizures, he diagnosed I was having Absonce seizures, the mildest you can have. I'm grateful though (even while wishing I didn't have to take these pills because they've thinned my hair out considerably) that I have the med because it has definitely controlled the blasted things so they only happen one to three times a month.

Have I bored you yet?

I guess I feel pretty lucky because those I know who also have or have had seizures have/had the Grand Mal type where they pass out during or after their seizure. I never have. I'm disoriented and/or achy and moody after one, but I'm still cognizant. I would prefer never to have had any seizures, but I guess it was a way for the Lord to make me stronger.

I need to thank Him for being with me yesterday, for He was. The night before and all yesterday morning leading up to the moment I was stuck with a butterfly needle I felt Him. There was none of the usual full-blown panic I start feeling hours before my doctor's appointment. I felt a sort of peace, a confidence that I could do this. Because I had to. As the time came I calmly asked for a butterfly needle (the small size that hurt less; yes I'm still that much of a wimp) and didn't even look when she inserted the needle. She asked me to take a few deep breaths and relax a little, which I managed to do!! I did not shed a tear; I did not whimper. I just concentrated on trying to stay relaxed and it was over before I knew it!! Yay! So, thank You, Father.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
It's up to you. The journey is the prize.
~{seen on a bumper sticker}~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE