Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
The Beaver Moon Is Coming
11-12-2002 E 8:59 p.m.
Argh, I dislike sad shows. They can be good, but I sometimes cry through them. I hate it when that happens cause 1) I hate being caught crying, 2) I can't see what's going on because of tear-blurred vision and 3) I hate the build-up of depressing emotion. Tonight, Smallville was sad, almost a copy of Phenomenon. I tend to avoid sad shows if I can. But sometimes one sneaks in through my careful screening.

For the past month I have been gathering lil tidbits of info and facts for a trivia entry I'll be doing later on when I have as many as I want. Today I found something of interest that will be used in the entry, but I found it really interesting that I want to share it with you now. Plus, it will give you a sneak preview of what's to come and hopefully stirring some anticipation in you for when I do post the entry.

You know I'm into Native American cultures. I'm also into astronomy a bit though I don't know all zee constellations or bodies in the heavens. Well, in The Canterville Ghost they talked of a belief involving the Blue Moon. Some people say if you walk with a special someone on the night of a Blue Moon you'll find love. Hence the saying: "Once in a blue moon."

In using this as one of my facts I remembered there's a Hunter's Moon. I thought that would also be cool for my lil tableau. Google is a wonderful, though sometimes frustrating, tool, you know that? It came through admirably this time; not only did I learn when the Hunter's Moon is, I learned that each full moon has a name. Of course, this may be only fascinating to me, but here are the names as Native Americans gave them a long time ago depending on what nation they were from:

January-- Old Moon or Wolf Moon
February-- Snow Moon, Hunger Moon or Opening Buds Moon
March-- Sap Moon, Worm Moon, Crow Moon, Crust Moon or Maple Sugar Moon
April-- Planter's Moon, Grass Moon, Pink Moon, Moon of the Red Grass Appearing or Frog Moon
May-- Milk Moon, Flower Moon or Budding Moon
June-- Rose Moon or Strawberry Moon
July-- Thunder Moon, Blood Moon or Buck Moon
August-- Green Corn Moon, Corn Moon, Sturgeon Moon
September-- Fruit Moon or Harvest Moon
October-- Moon of Falling Leaves or Hunter's Moon
November-- Frost Moon or Beaver Moon
December-- Long Night Moon or Cold Moon
Unfortunately there were no stories to explain how the Indians chose these names on the webpage I viewed, but some or self-explanatory I believe. I was first put off by the name Blood Moon for the one in July, but the association I had with it was a mental picture of blood rubies, and as the ruby is my birthstone I soon grew accustomed to the idea of the name. I don't actually think of the red sticky stuff vampires crave. I do like the name Thunder Moon better though. And I thought the name Frog Moon in April was pretty amusing (it's Heather's birth month) as Heather has the nickname of Toadi and has a friend with the nickname of Frog. A lil bit of *searches for word* a common link there. =0}

P.S. November's Beaver or Frost Moon will shine in the night sky the 20th. So, as you look up at that bright, round moon you can say, "I know your name now." Who knows, you may just make a celestial friendly acquaintance.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"The road to darkness is a journey. Not a light switch."
~Lex Luthor from Smallville~


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE