Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
ACLU Sans Heaven
07-03-2004 E 7:27 p.m.
Since the 4th this year is on a Sunday, the festivities vary from day to day, depending on zee town. Today we had our parade and other sundry activities, which will be topped off by fireworks at the fairgrounds later tonight, I'm sure. Monday Menan is having its celebration of our country's birth, and KLCE 97 and Meluecea(sp?) will have their grand annual fireworks show in I.F. that same night. So it's definitely a weekend celebration.

With it being the 4th of July now is the perfect time to share my suggestion I had for P-O-Y some months ago. But that particular entry, if not the theme, will have to wait till tomorrow. My theme is in three parts so, naturally, it will be spread over the next three days.

One of the ongoing and recent debates in America, besides the war with Iraq, is whether or not we should keep God as part of the foundation of our country. There are those who are clamoring for the removal of the phrases "In God We Trust" and "One nation under God" from our currency and the Pledge of Allegiance. They believe the Separation of Church and State should be absolute. The ACLU is one proponent. Ever since I was in high school it has actively advocated the banning of prayer at graduations and in the classrooms. But I find it amusing and just that students still have found a way to pray when they want. Where they want.

Jessy made a comment yesterday or the day before that I whole-heartedly agree with and that goes hand-in-hand with my point. "I find it amazing we live in a country that wants to get rid of God, yet moves a holiday in deference to Him."

Yes indeed. It is amazing to me that our country can sing God Bless America in one breath then in another cry "It's unconstitutional!" when referring to time honored phrases we've used and repeated for 200 and some odd years. You think it's hypcocritical? So do I.

But I'm sure that doesn't bother the ACLU. As long as it's got America being politically correct.



B.C. by Johnny Hart.

[Part 2]


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE