Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Supersized! Why Were Things So BIG!?
05-07-2005 E 10:50 p.m.
Second update for today/tonight.


The Mastadon


An Archelon, the world's largest(?) sea turtle


Megalodon


I have one question: Why were things so BIG in prehistoric times?

Even the bison back then were HUGE! I tried finding a picture of one like the Archelon, but all I came up with were pictures of cave art and today's smaller version. From the hoof to the shoulder bone, the distance measured seven feet! (I remember this from the exhibit at Idaho's Museum of Natural History on ISU's campus when I went with a class once.) So, knowing this, just imagine the horn span!

The Archelon picture is of the sea turtle from Thanksgiving Point. As you can see, it's suspended from zee ceiling of the Museum of Ancient Life. It's near the doorway to the sealife exhibit, and let me tell you, entering that room sitting in a wheelchair, with that thing leaning forward as if it was gonna swoop down on ya...yyyeeaahh, you wanna dive out of the way!

And, apparently the Megalodon, by the way which gave me the creeps and major gooseflesh just looking at the painted plaster replica of zee head, is said to have been a bigger version of the Great White. Scientists say it was anywhere from 15 to 20-feet-long. But, in 1918, off the coast of New Zealand it was reported that several fisherman saw a shark 30-feet long! That would be good enough to keep me landlocked for a good long while, if I knew that was in the same water with me!

Almost everything back then was supersized, pardon the McDonald's expression. I find it interesting and would love to know why. And why, over many, many, many years of evolution the species that survived became smaller. Was it so man could have easier dominion over the plant and animal kingdoms? Really, those answers would be sweet to know.


The beginning of knowledge is the discovery of something we do not understand.
~Frank Herbert~

..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE