Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Monday Memories: "My Hero!"
04-10-2006 E 9:07 p.m.
Feeling-- all right
Reading-- Winds of Fate by Mercedes Lackey
Listening to-- tv

Second entry for the night.


Monday Memories: Did I ever tell you about the time a friend tried breaking into my apartment to "save" me?

It's one of the strongest memories I have of Jason. He was one of my best friends at ISU, and one I wish I was still close to. In fact, an out-of-the-blue call from him today is what prompted the memory for this first ever Monday Memories. At first, when Mama told me "Jason Hunt" had called me this morning--at 8 a.m.--I wasn't sure she had heard right. There is another man I know, with Determined To VOTE!, whose name is similar and I thought it might have been him. Imagine my clear and utter surprised delight to find out it was truly my friend Jason when he called a second time, later this afternoon. I was truly excited and on Cloud 9. =0} The last time I talked to and was with him, he didn't sound or act too happy. It was like he was in transition and wanted the past--meaning our friendship--to stay in the past.

That was two, three, four years ago. Now, he seems to want contact.

But I'm supposed to be reliving the picked memory, not going on about another. LOL.

It was a rainy day the day Jason "saved" me. This was before his mission, when we both were at ISU still. It had rained steadily, almost torrentially, for most of the day, so that by late afternoon the gutters of the streets were mini rivers, flowing towards the sewer grates. My friend April and I had traversed the half of campus closest to my on-campus apartment to get home. She stayed briefly, if I remember right, visiting then went on home. Not too long after, Jason came knocking on my door. I was at my computer--how unusual--and started turning to head for the door.

Then my chair stopped. Dead. It refused to make the second half-turn to go the short distance to the door. It would not go right. It would not go forward. It would not go left, nor backward. It had jerked to an unexpected stop, and I was stuck.

"Um, Jason?" I called loudly, hoping he could hear me clearly enough. "I'm stuck! My chair quit on me! I can't move!"

He suddenly was at the window, prying the screen off so he could open the window and climb in through that way. (My door happened to be locked.) Heh. Next problem? The bar of wood in the windowsill, used to keep intruders from sliding the window open and climbing through, served its purpose quite efficiently, unfortunately enough in our case. Jason could not get in. He had to get an officer from Public Safety next door to come and unlock mine.

They came in and plugged my chair in for a few minutes to charge the batteries, and the officer left Jason and I to the anti-climax of our "adventure." My chair seemed ok and back to normal after the brief charging. I just think some water, from the gutter rivers, got into my circuits as April and I were crossing streets and played a delayed havoc with them when I got home.

I know this is a corny clich�, but how apt it is in this case--c'mon, say it with me: "My hero!"





Links to other Monday Memories
(If you participate, leave your link in the comments and I'll post it below)



Click here for the Monday Memories code

Click here for Shelli's blog


Trackbacks, pings, and comment links are accepted and encouraged!



..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE