Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Update and Lord of the Rings
01-09-2002 E 6:58 p.m.
Sorry for the delay in adding this next entry, but the desire to see my dolphins and mermaid up became a demand. I hope you like them. The only downside though to changing over at 7 'o' clock at night, is you spend the next few hours tweaking colors, links, sizes and fonts until you get the combo you seek. Which, for me, meant my unofficial goal to leave an entry everyday for the whole month--if there was something to write about--is broken off. But, there is always next month.

Before I go on to LOTR, I just wanted to note that I finally figured what to fill my black leather bound journal with. Poetry! My few poems, the few sonnets of Shakespeare I love and and other poems I'll come across that'll really touch or inspire me. My descendants will sure know a lot about me! *chuckles* I have several hardbook journals, I have these two diaries, two dream journals, a thought book and now a poetry book! LOL Me an' my "books" huh?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I love Elijah Wood. I think I have ever since he first started appearin' in movies as a kid. How could one not fall into those impossibly blue eyes and not drown a happy girl? And that dark hair. I love dark hair. And that smile, with a dimple winking to life every time his lips curve...

Ahem. *clears mooneyed look off my face* Lord of the Rings. Right. Jen was so cute; some friends took her and Mike to it last month and since then she has been wanting to see my reaction to it. *shakes head, smiling* When Enya came on during the credits as one they (Jon had seen it before then too) turned to me expectantly. It was funny; I tried to keep an impassive face.

"Well?" Jen said excitedly.

Reader, I deliberately downplayed my reaction. "Well, what?" I asked innocently.

"What'd ya think?" Jen prodded, enthralled with the movie's magic once again.

"It was good... So that's who she is!" I broke off mid-sentence as Liv Tyler's name scrolled up. I hadn't been able to figure out during the movie where I'd seen "Arwen" before. It was in Armageddon.

I think my response disappointed them, because I didn't go on and on about this or that. Remember I was bummed earlier because of my continued academic probation. In fact, I tried getting Mike and Jen to switch it to this Saturday, but they were all excited and enthusiastic to share the magic with me.

For all the downplaying I did, I liked Lord of the Rings. I think it was well written, beautifully put together, the cast well chosen--whom breathed life into their characters and added little quirks to them not envisioned by T.R.R. Tolkien. Sam, was impossibly loyal to a fault, the other two hobbits were endearing baffoons who sacrificed their own safety so Frodo could continue the quest. The elves' makeup was wonderful, and those chosen to play them seemed to fit the physical traits most envision them to have. (Legolas was another favorite of mine. I think he had kissable lips. *smiles naughtily*)

The movie magic or special effects seemed so natural. Not like the earlier sci-fi movies like Godzilla or Mothra. True, they're not exactly the same genre, but you get the idea. And the sets! Man oh man, did they get elaborate on some! Bilbo's home, Rivendale (the elves' home), the sanctuary of the elf-witch and the dwarven mines. I was most likely gaping at each one. Such detail--archways, Greeklike statues and on and on. Then there were the orcs. Man were they ugly.

On the way home I overheard Jen and Mike comment on the white handprints the orcs painted on their faces.

"I finally figured out what they were for," Jen said. "It's sunscreen."

I thought about it and the picture of an orc being painted thusly reminded me of how the Celts used to paint themselves blue to make themselves look scarier before war. I made this comment.

"The orcs don't need to paint themselves to be ugly. They're already ugly enough," he truthfully joked. "What would it be called," he added, "Medieval camuflage(sp?)?"

We laughed.

"Yeah, yeah," he continued, joking, "I'm going to war, I need to "dress up." Put my white handprint on right there...thhaatt's it."

More chuckles. "I didn't know there was such protocol for war." he concluded.

Yeah, we had fun. I mooned over Elijah/Frodo, I cried when Sean Bean died. "You better have cried," Jen warned, "Because if I was the only girl to cry..." I assured her I shed the appropriate amount of tears.

I marveled at the sets, at Sam's unfailing loyalty. I wanted to kiss both Elijah and Legolas. And man! I wanted to gag the ring wraiths! Their screams were so piercing! Reminded me of banshees, they did. And lastly, I liked how the director portrayed the reality around Frodo whenever he used the ring to go invisible. I won't ruin it for those who have not yet seen LOTR. But I would never have pictured it to be like that. I thought it was cool.

Mike mentioned he has a friend who works at Barnes & Noble. He said sales for the book have skyrocketed. People wanna find out what happens at the end of the saga. They don't wanna wait for the next two years to find out. *chuckles* Can't say I blame them. If you haven't seen it, go see it. It's worth the theater's price.

Next movie I want ta see is Kate and Leopold. Night y'all. Have fun!


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE