Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
'Miracle' Baby Found Floating In Lake
01-29-2006 E 5:35 p.m.
Feeling-- horrified
Reading-- Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling
Listening to-- nothing

I went to MSN.com to play a game on its game zone, and on the front page I found a link that arrested my attention. Baby found floating in lake... This is the story the link led to--I'm cutting and pasting it here because when I go to print my journal off I want the story as a reference.

Baby survives floating inside plastic bag on lake
Local resident fished 2-month-old girl from water thinking it was a cat

Associated Press, SAO PAULO, Brazil-- "A baby girl found inside a plastic bag floating on a lake in Brazil was released from hospital Sunday in good condition, doctors said.

"The girl, apparently two months old, was rescued Saturday afternoon by a couple who heard her crying in the Pampulha Lagoon in Belo Horizonte, a city about 300 miles northeast of Sao Paulo.

"Amateur footage broadcast on Brazilian TV showed rescuers using a long tree branch to pull the black plastic bag out of the water. They opened the bag and found the girl inside, dressed in a pink dress.

"'I heard what sounded like a cat,' Jose da Cruz told Globo TV. 'Then the noise was increasing and it caught my attention.'

"A small wooden board inside the bag apparently kept it from sinking.

"'She is in good condition,' Dr. Claudia Guimaraes said. 'It's a miracle she survived the heat and somehow didn't drown.'

"Authorities arrested the mother of the baby later Sunday, but she denied throwing the girl into the lake, Globo reported. The mother said she gave the baby away to a group of homeless people because she didn't have enough money to raise the child.

"The Pampulha Lagoon is located in downtown Belo Horizonte, in one of the city's most famous parks, often crowded with weekend visitors."

*******
Horrified and outraged is the only way to describe how I felt as I read this. Two-months-old and innocent, thrown away like yesterday's garbage. It's a wonder she didn't suffocate, or drown as the doctor mentioned she could have done. Or die from heat stroke.

My first thought after reading this was, Oh yeah, giving your baby to a group of homeless people was smart. They can take care of her sssooo much better than you can.

My second thought was, If you can't take care of a baby or don't have enough money to, then don't have one!!!

It's as simple as that. If you're not in a position to have or don't want a baby, then be intelligent and be responsible enough to be on birth control or practice abstinence. These are innocent little people that we bring into this harsh world, totally undeserving of the cruelty this lil girl and many other babies suffer, because they were an "accident" and aren't wanted.

I'm glad the mother was found and arrested. Even though she did not commit the heinous deed, she most certainly was an accessory. She allowed it to happen by giving her daughter to a group of homeless vagabonds. She was an idiot if she thought for one measly second the baby girl was better off with them! I also hope the people who actually placed her in the bag on the board and let her loose in the lake were arrested and will be prosecuted and convicted. And I hope she will be placed in a loving, happy home where she'll grow up well-cared for and cherished.

She deserves it after the ordeal she's been through.


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE