Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
Christmas In Australia and an Imposter For an Imposter
12-13-2002 E 3:35 p.m.
We aren't going. Dad didn't want to leave with the furnace so iffy and heaters the only way to warm an old rock house. Let's face it, it's an accident waiting to happen. So...I'm more relieved than disappointed. I'm hoping also that I can keep my goal of writing here every day this month. This way I won't have to play catch up after a trip.

Today's Christmas story is geared more for children--actually most of the stories I've chosen thus far have been for them--but it's interesting. For sometime now I've loved studying different cultures--especially Native American--and several years ago, I can't remember if it was a ward party or some other entertainment thingy, someone had chosen the theme "Christmas Around the World." Cool! I thought.

Since then and upon noticing some of Mom's Santa figurines were from other countries I became interested in how other countries celebrate my favorite holiday. This story is entitled * Christmas In Australia, by Sarah Toast.

Australians live on the world's largest island, which is also the world's smallest continent. Most of Australia's immigrants came from England and Ireland [a penal colony], bringing their Christmas customs with them.

Australia is the Land Down Under, where the seasons are opposite to ours. When Australians celebrate Christmas on December 25th, it is during summer vacation. Most of Australia is a hot, dry desert, known as the Outback. The grassy or marshy savannas are called the Bush. But most people in Australia live in the green coastal areas of the southwest.

The most popular event of the Christmas season is called Carols by Candlelight. People come together at night to light candles and sing Christmas carols outside. The stars shining above add to the sights and sounds of this wonderful outdoor concert.

Australian families love to do things outside. They love to swim, surf, sail and ride bicycles. They like to grill meals outdoors on the barbecue, which they call the "barbie."

Families decorate their homes with ferns, palm leaves and evergreens, along with the colorful flowers that bloom in summer called Christmas bush and Christmas bellflower. Some families put up a Christmas tree. Outdoors nasturtiums, wisteria and honeysuckle bloom.

Christmas festivities begin in late November, when schools and church groups present Nativity plays. They sing carols throughout the month of December.

On Christmas Eve, families attend church together. Some children expect Father Christmas to leave gifts, and others wait for Santa Claus to visit and deliver gifts.

After opening presents on Christmas morning, the family sits down to a breakfast of ham and eggs. Then the family goes to church again.

On Christmas Eve in families that observe Irish traditions, the father sets a large candle in a front window of the home to welcome Mary, Joseph and the Baby Jesus. The youngest child in the family lights the candle. The family goes to midnight mass and attends church on Christmas Day as well. Afterwards there are parties and festive visits.

Christmas Day is when families and close friends gather together from all over Australia. The highlight of the day is the holiday midday dinner. Some familes enjoy a traditional British Christmas dinner of roast turkey or ham and rich plum pudding doused in brandy and set aflame before it's brought to the table. The person who gets the favor baked inside will enjoy good luck all year round.

Other families head for the backyard barbie to grill their Christmas dinner in the sunshine. Many families even go to the beach or to the countryside and enjoy a picnic of cold turkey or ham and a salad. Father Christmas has been known to show up in shorts to greet children on the beach at Christmas!

The day after Christmas is Boxing Day. Australians with British and Irish backgrounds leave tips for the grocer, postman, newspaper carrier and others to thank them for their help in the past year.

New Year's Eve is always a special time, with dinners, dancers and parties. On Twelfth Night, January 6th, there is one last party to end the Christmas season.

Hmm, wonder if the Twelve Days of Christmas tradition then comes from the British Isles?

*******
Perhaps it's just as well we didn't go because the furnace man came finally, so we have a heated house now. Whoopee!!

They say Geminis and Cancers don't get along too well. Many times Aubree and I prove that theory correct, as many of my past entries attest to. A lil while ago her friend Kailee called and told me Aubree had gotten mad for some unknown reason and was probably walking home. Great, I thought. She probably blew something out of proportion--again.

I know I sounded dense and redundant, but I was trying to understand why Aubree let her temper get the best of her with Kailee. They are the best of friends, and they rarely fight. Kailee was as baffled as I was. So, resigned to the fact that the *tries to supply a nice word other than brat but fails* I told her not to sweat it. Aubree would be back for zee party she's having. (Are you kidding? Aubree miss a party? She's following in Kami's footsteps, the social butterfly.)

Aubree came home and I knew she would get on zee phone, after all it's her usual ritual after school. I decided to make her wait and learn a lil patience. I called Nan.

Well, I tried calling her this morning, but was stonewalled by a family friend who thought I was an imposter. Me! An imposter, can you believe that? Supposedly I was impersonating myself. Joan was abrupt and unfriendly. Little did I know at the time that Nan has a girl calling everyday, claiming to be her granddaughter. What can I say? Other people just want ta be me. I'm a star! *dramatic pose* Yeah right, and if you believe that I have swampland in the Sahara Desert I can sell you.

"Joan didn't realize it was you," said Nan. "When I tell her it was you, she will faint."

This mollified me somewhat as I'd been put off by Joan's earlier attitude. I'd expected a warmer reception from Joan. I'm anxious now to hear what she says when she realizes it was me all along. And I can't blame the other girl wanting Nan to be her grandmother. Nan's an awesome steel magnolia. Whelpies, see y'all tomorrow.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Question posed by comedian, George Carlin: "How is it possible to have a civil war?"


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE