Writings and Layout
� 2001-2006 by Shiloh
times since Oct. 22, 2001
At Last, My Weekend *smiles*
03-22-2006 E 3:47 p.m.
Feeling-- all right
Reading-- Only a Whisper by Gayle Wilson
Listening to-- Who Wants To Live Forever by Dune from The Celtic Circle

Ok... Time for zee entry some of you have been waiting for. The entry on my training this past weekend. *smiles*

They wanted us down there--or I should say, over there--in Boise on Thursday, because, as you saw on my itinerary, our training started bright and early--well, early for me who's a night owl--at nine a.m. I was hoping to get over there sometime in the afternoon, early enough that there would be still some daylight left and time to bump around and relax. Familiarize ourselves (Mom had informed a surprised Dad he was coming with us) with the city before it became crunch time and we needed to know how to navigate the big city. (Compared to Rexburg, it is--in my mind--a metropolis, even it is on the smaller side.) It didn't turn out the way I was hoping, though. Mom had to work and didn't get home till around four o'clock. We left around 4:20...4:30, which of course, put us getting there not till after 9:30. =os

I had a hard time sleeping that night--I'd forgotten my pillow, oops! so I used this flat, mushy, gushy one. I was anxious and so nervous about the next morning that I kept waking up through zee night; I wanted to make a good impression.

*laughs, remembering* A few to several months ago Mom and I were in Wal-Mart and we happened to see this short-sleeved shirt I fell in love with. It's pale green--a pretty lime sherbert green--with Good Luck Bear (from the Care Bears) on the front and the catch-phrase, "Wish Me Luck" in darker green lettering. Classic for St. Patrick's Day, eh, which coincided with my first day of training! So, guess what I wore? *laughs some more* How appropriate, non? I even wore the watch Grandma B. gave me for Christmas two years ago, which is lime green with white 7s sewn on either side. Go lucky sevens! =0D

The project--Day 1
Idaho is made up of seven "regions." So, naturally, there are seven teams for the Determined To VOTE! project. There are three members to a team--two trainers and a supporter, who is basically a prop person/audio-visual techician, while the trainers are the ones who really run zee show...or presentations. Yes, peeps, I have been hired to do something I never thought I would have the desire to do: speak in person in front of groups of people. *laughs and smiles* A second ironic (but good thing) about this job/project.

Actually, knowing what I know now about Determined To VOTE! and its real purpose, and rereading that entry just now, the trepidation and intimidation I've felt in the past--and still do--when speaking or performing before a group is really the only ironic thing about this. Because we've been instructed to be strictly non-partissan. We cannot talk about the issues or candidates, as that could reasonably and understandably be construed as "influencing." The whole purpose for this project is to educate and to inform the elderly and the disabled in our specific regions about voting--how and where they can register to vote and when; that they have the right to vote, even though poll workers may challenge that right; why it's important they vote; and about the different ways they can vote. Politics--or the side I hate: the mudslinging, the lies, the smooth, slick promises that eventually fall by the wayside once a candidate is elected into office--doesn't even come into it. So, yeah, I'm an excited, happy camper. NO POLITICS! Except when I research the candidates and the issues for my own informed vote.

We are expected to do two presentations by the May 23rd election, then three more by November 7th. We're pretty lucky, I think, in that we set our own work schedules. Other trainers have other jobs or go to college (like my teammate, Erick). In addition to getting paid a $100 per presentation we do, we're also reimbursed, or our work expenses have a set allowance, so almost every expense we incur will be paid for.

The project is through the Council for Developmental Disabilities, but it is funded by Idaho's Secretary of State. Thus, it is very important that we conduct ourselves appropriately and be exemplary examples to those who're disabled as well. The future of the project and anymore possible funding are contingent on those involved.

The people
The people were all nice and friendly and those I got to know better during lunches and breaks were/are awesome. A few quirky things happened, as I told Heather yesterday, making her stew in suspenseful anticipation for awhile. *wiggles eyebrows and grins*

Quirk No. 1
Imagine my happy surprise when a familiar head tilted around Ms. P to say hello to me after I'd settled in at my place at one of the tables. "You remember me, Shiloh?" A asked. (I'm using initials for anonymity's sake.)

I too leaned around Ms. P's back to smile at her as recognition dawned. "A!" I said hastily, before we were called to order by Ms. P shaking her Tic Tacs, "How are you?!"

A and I knew each other at ISU--we were neighbors at University Courts my last semester in Pokey. During the morning break and at lunch we proceeded in getting reacquainted. It was wonderful! A much better passtime than what I'd envisioned my first morning being like.

Quirk No. 2
The hostess for our training this past weekend (who's also the Council's chairperson), T, my Mom and I got visiting with each other over lunch Saturday and discovered we're related! Sing with me now, "It's a small world after all... It's a small world after all..."

There was a third quirk--I think--but upon further reflection, I think it best if I don't say what it is, or was as I'm now not sure if I'm right about it. If I get further or absolute confirmation on it then I'll mention it.

All in all, I had fun, in spite of going first in giving our practice presentation before the group and ours being the roughest. And me freezing up on it, instead of being relaxed and out-going. Oh well, they do say in our manuals, "PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!" *smiles*

Oh, and we were right across or kittycorner from the capitol building!


..:: Remembered�����E�����Occuring ::..

Recently Recorded...
06-17-2006 E Good Bye
06-07-2006 E A Real-Life American Princess
06-06-2006 E I Have VICTORY--With a Lil Help
06-03-2006 E The Ballot-Marking Device: Making History
06-01-2006 E Thursday Thirteen: 13 Things I Am Or Have Been Obsessed Or Fascinated With

moon phase



FBorFW.com

100 Books Club
ArchivedE
WrittenE
TranscribingE
An Angel's ProfileE
DisclaimerE
Who's WhoE
Extra ScrollsE
DiarylandE
Live C.P.E
Email From HeavenE
Angel NotesE
My GuestbookE
Fairy TalesE
Voice On DisabilitiesE
My Alluvial MineE
The Silk RoadE
The Faraway TreeE
Viewing ChildhoodE
I Wonder WhyE
Essays On LoveE